We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Oitavos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oitavos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oitavos
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Oitavos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Another novelty - luxury hotel Oitavos in minimalist style located outside of Cascais. Simple, elegant design in the noble gray and pale-purple tones gives an airy feeling. An architect Jose Annahory carefully thought-out every detail for a complete holiday comfort. Bright spacious rooms over 60 square meters with balconies overlooking the ocean, creates a feeling of complete rest and enjoyment. Average price: 275euro per night depending on the season.
A few minutes from the hotel there is Oitavos golf course. It is called 'Oitavos Dunes'- one of 100 top European golfs under number 68. Architect Arthur Hills designed the golf course in such a way that during rainy weather the water does not seep through the grass surface, allowing the lawns to be always dry.
There is a swimming pool and spa in the basement of the hotel. The spa is equipped in modern style with a beautiful purple light. Professional therapists recommend a variety of different procedures. I particularly liked the sports massage (95euro) and facial (95euro).

Room Tip: If you want to indulge yourself get a room 348
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna11422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    165
    76
    17
    22
See reviews for
99
296
23
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We arrived in the hotel by car around noon and all though the hotel seemed extremely quiet our room was not ready yet. Not a problem as the weather was great and we quickly settled at the pool. After one hour or so we went back to reception to check on our room which was ready by then. Shame they didn't come to pick us up before us asking them... there were maybe 6 other people near the pool so not that hard to find us one would think.

We loved our suite. Everything is blue as per their concept.. hope they will maintain this over the years to come as sometimes hotels tend forget about the initial idea after a while. Bed was heavenly, also sound system and television were great to watch a movie at night with a dessert from room service. The following days we mainly spend near the pool, lovely atmosphere, great vibe, rather quiet but we loved it like this. We played golf one day. Not the cheapest but definitely worth it. One of the evenings, all guests were invited to some kind of a cocktail party outside on the terrace with live music and a band. Again.. great vibe!

We were initially scheduled to leave after 4 nights but re-booked our flights and extended our stay with another 3 nights as we were having a great time and didn't have any commitments yet back home. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the golf court as the other side faces a residential villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissBelgiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

been a very good 4 days with my wife there. talking about the building and rooms it is a bit strange you get scandinavian minimalism in the middle of portugal, but it fits for me for sure. everybody was very kind, everything went very smooth, so we could relax big time. taxi to cascais costs 5-8 euros, but you also can use a bike (wind is pretty strong, so it takes forever if you have headvind in one directon). we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiikoqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast , Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights in mid July. It really is very difficult to find any fault with this Hotel. Staff service standards are as good or better than Four Seasons/ Ritz Carlton.
Normally we don't dine in the Hotel , however the food was so good and the atmosphere so relaxing that we ate dinner in the Hotel for 5 of our 7 nights. We had a wonderful meal called 'The Chef's Table'. A table is set for you in the actual kitchen and you are served personally by Head Chef Cyril Chevellier. He was charming and very talented.We watched him mix Portugese cuisine with his classic French training. A special mention to Mario the Maitre'd, Jack and all their team for exceptional dinning room service throughout our stay.
As golfers we loved the Oitavos Dunes course.A Top World 100 course.Classic links golf. Buggies were set up at the side door of the Hotel taking you straight to the first tee. Helder and his Golf team were totally professional and looked after us very well. The clubhouse food at lunch time was superb and Justine runs the operation with style and super efficiency.
So, if you want a super cool , ultra modern hotel with fabulous bedrooms on the Estoril coast look no further than 'The Oitavos'
We will be back !

Room Tip: Ask for a west facing room on 3rd floor for spectactular sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkoRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights after staying in hostels in Lisbon for week. This is everything we expected from a 5star hotel; beautiful rooms with great views, excellent pool and spa facilities, a massive choice at breakfast and a general feel of freedom and luxury about the place.
We felt the bustle and busyness that we had experienced in Lisbon dissapear almost immediately by the outdoor pool. The remoteness of the hotel means it is very quiet but you are a mere 20minute cycle to Cascais if you want more to see. Bikes are available to hire or €10 a day which makes the beaches very accessible.
Only drawback is that the price reflects the luxury and I'm not sure we could visit as often or for as long as we would like to.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davoethnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel is situated 30 mins from Lisbon on the dramatic Atlantic coast near the town of Cascais. It has recently been built and reflects a contemporary style with lots of glass and light and all the latest amenities, including a fantastic golf course. The rooms are of an extremely good standard although the open plan bath room may be an issue for people who want some privacy. The hotel has a wonderful pool that overlooks the pine trees that line the golf course and the Atlantic ocean which is 5 mins walk away. Breakfast at the hotel is highly recommended but for lunch or dinner it is well worth making the effort to visit the restaurants along the coast and in Cascais. Monte Mar is a fabulous seafood restaurant within walking distance of the hotel and although not cheap serves excellent quality food. For wonderful ice cream try Santini's in the old town.

Like most places I have visited on my travels if you treat the hotel staff with respect they will respond by providing good service although being Portugal you have to accept that service may not always be as prompt as you would like. Our trip was before the high season of July/August and so the hotel was not full which meant we were able to enjoy the pool and facilities without feeling crowded. We had a great week and will return in future

Room Tip: To enjoy the balcony obtain a west facing room to enjoy the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Modboy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Oitavos was recommended to me by my PGA pro at Woburn. As expected the course was excellent and challenging in the wind. The Hotel is bold, minimal and open plan. On first view it looked a little odd but it really worked - a refreshing change from mock age. The Premium rooms are big and airy. Service was impeccable and the food was unbelievably good; fresh, local, tasty...mmm...delicious!

Worth getting Alfonso to caddy for you, best 50 euro you'll spend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juanpopo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
2.4 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
3.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oitavos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oitavos

Property: The Oitavos
Address: Rua de Oitavos Rua da Quinta, Cascais 2750-004, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#9 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#9 Business Hotel in Cascais
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oitavos 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the timeless beauty of the Atlantic coast, The Oitavos seeks to embrace rather than compete with nature. Its bold design, sleek lines and elegantly simple interiors focus attention outwards – on the historical and natural elements of the grounds and the drama and romance of the Atlantic Ocean. A stunning blue colour palate will cool your senses, blending with the colours of the sea and the violets of the flowers dotted across the landscape. Contemporary sculpture and paintings by Portuguese artists will enrapture against the white canvas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oitavos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oitavos Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing