We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous hotel by the ocean on a great golf course”
Review of The Oitavos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oitavos
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“fabulous hotel by the ocean on a great golf course”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Wonderful hotel, with a very open, airy modern architecture, I stayed in a beautiful corner room which is i think two categories above standard room, very spacious and overlooking the pool and the golf course. The hotel is designed in star shape so all rooms have a side view to the sea; the downside is you are either sunrise or sunset facing. The bedding is excellent, crisp linens and goose down pillows. The breakfast is fab, one of the best I have seen with an amazing selection of fruits, local cheeses, bread and in you wake up early enough you can have these Portuguese custard tart warm! It is too cold in the morning in the lobby though, gets better later in the day.
The food in the fancy side (there are 2 restaurants opposite one another) is fine but not outstanding. It is a fixed menu changing everyday and including wine which I think is a good idea. I thought it was better on the more casual side with an eclectic selection of dishes, from local (top bulhau pato clams!) to more spanish ones (tapas) and even with some sushis (i didn't try them). It is priced reasonably for a 5 stars. The food at the golf clubhouse was good too and they have a beautiful terrace. It is a paradise for golfers although you can find other things to do nearby. They have a spa and 2 swimming pools to start with (indoor and outdoor). There is a bike path along the seaside and you can rent bikes at the hotel, there are surf schools at the nearby beach. The staff is attentive.
Golf is really what it is about. The hotel is set on a championship golf course, rated 89 in the top 100 worldwide if I remember well. Incredibly tough, almost undoable if you tee off from the back-tees, in particular if it is windy... and I would guess it is often since it is by the ocean. It has a links feel to it and it is set in an amazing protected natural park.
My only concern goes to the way the golf is ran. First of all, the clubhouse is away from the hotel, therefore the proshop is not at the heart of the tee-booking or anything golf: you don't discuss anything (tee, lessons, range...) with the pros, you deal with the concierges and they have to stick to the rules the golf has imposed upon them. For example you won't be able to tee off after 10AM in weekends since the course is then reserved to its members. Fair enough but the reality is that is it a course that relies heavily on green fees, not so much on its small amount of members.
Also they take four balls at anytime which is also very annoying: you might be stuck behind several 4 balls even if you tee off early in the morning. Finally, it is not in their policy to partner single or pairs to make it more homogeneous (although they try to do so sometimes). So you might tee off alone and be stuck behind three or four balls.
Apart from that, I had a wonderful stay and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: choose west or east facing. the nearest to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    184
    83
    24
    27
See reviews for
108
322
23
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed here on a 4 nights for 3 deal with two young children and felt it was good value. Some construction work going on in surrounding area but didn't bother us. Facilities excellent - spa, gym, pools all brand new and excellent quality. Restaurant very professional, had breakfast and dinner there throughout our stay. Didn't play golf course (see first sentence) but looked very well kept. Staff excellent. Very nice beach , Guincho is only few KM away, well known surfing location. Not one to go to for nightlife but Cascais is just down road. Got back today and already talking about back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoulevardierLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Be prepared for a truly mind blowing feeling on entering the hotel. The sheer size of the reception , dining and chilling areas is awesome. The designers have created individual ares within this huge space that make you feel you are in a smaller cosier atmosphere. Very clever.
We had a corner room overlooking the sea, which was gorgeous. The bed was sumptuous. Gorgeous products in the open plan bathroom.
The food was delicious too. Breakfast was superb, as was the all day menu and dinner.
Due to the poor weather we spent an afternoon in the spa, sauna, steam room ( with great views outside), indoor pool. Unfortunately we couldn't have a treatment as they were fully booked!
I only wish the sun had been shining so that we could've enjoyed the outdoor pool too.
Lets not forget the staff who all work hard to ensure the guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay. They were very friendly and helpful too.
We spent a day in historic Sintra. Don't bother with the toy museum, but definitely go to The Pena Palace , and get there early to miss the queues!

Absolutely loved it and we will definitely return!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skimoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

My family and I had a luxurious week of relaxing by the pool and maximizing the facilities of the hotel. Following our outings to Cascais and Lisbon all we could think about was getting back to the hotel. The atmosphere and the staff are outstanding. We wouldn't hesitate to repeat!

Room Tip: Mountain bikes available at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanareuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

I knew this Hotel would be very special on the drive up to it. I was greeted by a friendly concierge member of staff and I was blown away the minute I stepped in. A beautiful big open hotel with friendly staff who couldn't be more helpful. The facilities are just great. The hotel was quiet as it was January but I can't wait to come back again for a conference in August. The bedrooms are nice and big and I have never slept so well in a hotel room before. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cascais.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odivelas, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The space has no limits in this unit and the persons working are fully dedicated to help you enjoying the moment. And the sights are magnificent. I loved the experience, to be there with my sweet love and I hope I can repeat with my daughters to test the big and beautiful swimming pools

Room Tip: Ask for a room in 3rd floor oriented to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 2 days. The hotel is ultra model and at first seems very "stark" but after a very short time feels very "warm", because the architecture "works" and the wonderful wonderful staff.

The golf course is simply fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulR1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
2.4 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,182 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
770 reviews
2.5 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
790 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oitavos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oitavos

Property: The Oitavos
Address: Rua dos Oitavos, Cascais 2750-374, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#9 Business Hotel in Cascais
#11 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oitavos 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the timeless beauty of the Atlantic coast, The Oitavos seeks to embrace rather than compete with nature. Its bold design, sleek lines and elegantly simple interiors focus attention outwards – on the historical and natural elements of the grounds and the drama and romance of the Atlantic Ocean. A stunning blue colour palate will cool your senses, blending with the colours of the sea and the violets of the flowers dotted across the landscape. Contemporary sculpture and paintings by Portuguese artists will enrapture against the white canvas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oitavos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oitavos Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing