We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation, well located for travel around the area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolce Cascais Guest House
Ranked #13 of 42 Cascais B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Second time at this guest house and did not disappoint. Very clean, comfortable and well appointed. Relaxed atmosphere, plenty of variety for breakfast and once again a very enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Dolce Cascais Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

I simply agree with all the positive points previous reviewers state. The owners are really kind and helpful. They know many towns in Portugal and can give you great advice! Rooms were good, breakfast was great (I love their fresh bread), and overall we just had a lovely stay :)
Also they have a roller shutter which makes for a perfectly dark bedroom!

Room Tip: Book directly and not through booking . com-they say you can get better deals sometimes if you book...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnoukAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We liked this place quite well. The owners are very nice and willing to spend time helping you figure out what to do. The room was decent size (3 beds) and the a/c worked well. The place was a challenge to find the first time so print off a map from google before you come.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerryBor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night, and the place is lovely, friendly, clean and well designed.
We also got some good tips from the owners, and overall, I can recommend as a great option for a night in Cascais.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yanayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We chose this guesthouse for its cosy appearance on the web pictures but the reality was very different. The owners are great public relations but they are too stingy with the services they have to provide the clients, dishonest. We stayed 4 nights and were the only guests, just went there for dinner, sleep and breakfast so I guess that the landlady wasn´t very busy and we didn´t cause a lot of expenses. I´m going to state what happened those 4 days:


• The house is very cold inside (11º C) and damp despite is quite far from the sea. There is no heater in the room but a heating and air conditioning unit and was so dirty that our noses and eyes itched all time. We have the same unit at home but we clean it and have no problem.
• The living – dinning room and the kitchen were at the same temperature and despite there was just one heater the owners never turned it on. Even though we would have asked them to turn it on, it would have been insufficient for so much room. For this reason we had to dinner in our room, that was the only warm place of the house.
• There is no wardrobe in the room but a metal shelves with hanger rail so our clothes got damp.
• They don´t change the towels as they say in the web. In 4 days she only changed them the last day. A towel blood stained that I threw to the floor in order to be changed appeared placed on the towel rail again when we came back that night. Due to the great damp and the lack of heating in the bathroom the towels never got dry.
• The landlady added so much water to the hand gel that it was useless and we had to use shampoo to wash them.
• The beds are good but the pillows are tiny.
• The house has problems with the electric power; if you put at the same time the microwave and the toaster the circuit breaker blows. One morning I had to go out with my hair wet to resolve the problem while the owners had breakfast calmly and didn´t bother to go up and check the electric panelboard. The bathroom lighting is insufficient.
• The last day we were having breakfast at 9:00 and the landlady came and asked us to pay despite the check out is at 12:00.
• The house is placed in a noisy street with a lot of cars and vans fastly driven that hasn´t a crosswalk nearby and is specially risky for children, old people and handicapped persons. The landlady didn´t made the gesture of letting us parking in the property to unload the luggage and we had to do it on the sidewalk, blocking the way to pedestrians, to our regret.

We should have made a claim but we didn´t trust on the effectiveness and didn´t want to spend our little holidays arguing so we prefer to advise to future travelers to Cascais NOT to stay in this guesthouse, that is completely overestimaded in price and quality

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Korrigan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

It was a very nice location, friendy people and close to the bus station (taxis are also not expensive), i recommend it to everyone!
Tip: ask for the local restaurant, they give excellent tips)

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woetjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Interesting little B&B, very clean and tidy with a small garden to the rear.
Our room was small but adequate with a shared balcony.
Kitchen area was useful as could self cater if required.
As mentioned by others before,buses stop across the road and take you into town, though quite expensive mainly due to euro/gbp exchange rate. Discovered on Day 3 that you could buy books of tickets which made the journey cheaper.
Downside was the noise, with lots of families staying the noise on the staircase and hallways each morning prevented anything resembling a lie in. Even the sound proofing between the rooms meant disturbances. It might help if there were a door between the lower ground floor (kitchen and dining area) and the rooms as the noise from those breakfasting and merely chatting caused a disturbance. Take ear plugs if you value your sleep.
Only other issue was that due to the currency problems no banks will exchange currency - you must go to a bureau de change in town. On this the owner was not up to speed which was a shame as we wasted a morning trying to change money.
Overall if you're touring and you want to be up with the lark it's a great little place to stay, otherwise choose somewhere else.

Room Tip: Take plenty of euros - don't buy them in Portugal
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,212 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
792 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
544 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#6 of 17 in Estoril
471 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vila Bicuda Resort
Vila Bicuda Resort
#14 of 39 in Cascais
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Cascais Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Cascais Guest House

Address: Rua Joaquim Ereira 1114 | Bairro do Rosario, Cascais 2750-390, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range: $73 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolce Cascais Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Cascais, a charming guest house located in a residential area in Cascais, offers you a unique concept with 8 cosy and comfortable thematic bedrooms, all with private bathrooms. If you are seeking a getaway or accommodation for your holiday, stay with us and experience the Portuguese comfort and hospitality at affordable prices. The superb location makes it easy to discover Cascais downtown as well as the Estoril and Guincho coast with the beautiful and sunny beaches, the towns of Estoril and Sintra and the magnificent city of Lisbon. If you are looking for history and culture, stay with us and spend a day in Lisbon or Sintra. If you are looking for sports, stay with us and spend a day in Cascais, sailing, playing golf, tennis, surfing or simply jogging and biking along the coast. If you are looking for adventure, stay with us and spend an adventurous day in Sintra Mountains. If you are looking for sun and relax, stay with us and spend the day on the beach or in our garden. If you are looking for nightlife, stay with us and discover the bars, restaurants and discos in the Cascais Marina and downtown.In walking distance you will find a multiple offer of restaurants serving traditional Portuguese food, supermarkets, bakery and small shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dolce Cascais Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing