We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, nice rooms, perfect service and very nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolce Cascais Guest House
Ranked #14 of 42 Cascais B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 14, 2011

It was a very nice location, friendy people and close to the bus station (taxis are also not expensive), i recommend it to everyone!
Tip: ask for the local restaurant, they give excellent tips)

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woetjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 83 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

Interesting little B&B, very clean and tidy with a small garden to the rear.
Our room was small but adequate with a shared balcony.
Kitchen area was useful as could self cater if required.
As mentioned by others before,buses stop across the road and take you into town, though quite expensive mainly due to euro/gbp exchange rate. Discovered on Day 3 that you could buy books of tickets which made the journey cheaper.
Downside was the noise, with lots of families staying the noise on the staircase and hallways each morning prevented anything resembling a lie in. Even the sound proofing between the rooms meant disturbances. It might help if there were a door between the lower ground floor (kitchen and dining area) and the rooms as the noise from those breakfasting and merely chatting caused a disturbance. Take ear plugs if you value your sleep.
Only other issue was that due to the currency problems no banks will exchange currency - you must go to a bureau de change in town. On this the owner was not up to speed which was a shame as we wasted a morning trying to change money.
Overall if you're touring and you want to be up with the lark it's a great little place to stay, otherwise choose somewhere else.

Room Tip: Take plenty of euros - don't buy them in Portugal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Very cool place to stay, only a few minutes from the centre of Cascais.
Clean,cosy rooms; friendly staff; buffet/self-made breakfast. It was a vwery pleasant one night sta...but we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xanoca_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was a lovely hotel, and excellent value for money. Our room was a decent size, clean, nice decor, and the shower room was good. The hotel's extras are good - DVD library, free internet, use of ktichen, but you have to pay to rent a bike from them. The breakfast was OK; nice bread, ham, cheese, fruit - the usual Continental thing! My only disappointment was that it really is a solid 20 minutes walk out of the centre of town. However taxis are cheap - about 4 euro for a one way journey into town. My friend stayed at a hotel in town and found it noisy; this is not a problem at the lovely Dolce. The owners were very welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Spotless, modern and very well-equipped. 3 changes of bed linen & towels in a 7-night stay. Staff speak a variety of languages fluently and provided lots of useful local info. Pleasant walk into Cascais centre but very regluar bus service for the less energetic! Good continental breakfast included and full use of very well-eqipped kitchen to self-cater if required. All rooms have TVs & DVD players with films, books, guides, CDs available to borrow, free of charge. The owners could not have been more helpful and certainly went "the extra mile" to ensure every guest had all they needed. Guest are welcome to use the very attrractive lounge, dining room & garden at any time.
I cannot recommend this guest house highly enough.

Room Tip: Front or back - equally peaceful with D. glazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldgit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The area: high level residential area.
The house itself: a nice villa
The room: a nice room with a bathroom and a balcony.
Breakfast on the terrace in the sun.
The place is run by a charming couple Margarida and Duarte, who were always ready to phone a taxi for me.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christiaan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed there for 6 nights and cannot find any fault.

The rooms are a good size, inclusive of a aircon and with a flat screen tv.

Margereta and her husband are so friendly. She even helped our friends with their tour and they were not even staying there, they just dropped in to see us.

They have BBQ (braai) facilities, which is rare to find and is the best way to end a busy day of sightseeing, chilling in the garden with an ice cold SuperBok around the fire.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ch0kka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
808 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
548 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#3 of 17 in Estoril
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#14 of 39 in Cascais
1,037 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Cascais Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Cascais Guest House

Address: Rua Joaquim Ereira 1114 | Bairro do Rosario, Cascais 2750-390, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range: $64 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolce Cascais Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Cascais, a charming guest house located in a residential area in Cascais, offers you a unique concept with 8 cosy and comfortable thematic bedrooms, all with private bathrooms. If you are seeking a getaway or accommodation for your holiday, stay with us and experience the Portuguese comfort and hospitality at affordable prices. The superb location makes it easy to discover Cascais downtown as well as the Estoril and Guincho coast with the beautiful and sunny beaches, the towns of Estoril and Sintra and the magnificent city of Lisbon. If you are looking for history and culture, stay with us and spend a day in Lisbon or Sintra. If you are looking for sports, stay with us and spend a day in Cascais, sailing, playing golf, tennis, surfing or simply jogging and biking along the coast. If you are looking for adventure, stay with us and spend an adventurous day in Sintra Mountains. If you are looking for sun and relax, stay with us and spend the day on the beach or in our garden. If you are looking for nightlife, stay with us and discover the bars, restaurants and discos in the Cascais Marina and downtown.In walking distance you will find a multiple offer of restaurants serving traditional Portuguese food, supermarkets, bakery and small shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dolce Cascais Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing