We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dolce Cascais Guest House had the highest rating in Tripadvisor, and that turned out to be fully justified.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolce Cascais Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolce Cascais Guest House
Ranked #13 of 39 Cascais B&B and Inns
Brussels
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dolce Cascais Guest House had the highest rating in Tripadvisor, and that turned out to be fully justified.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

The area: high level residential area.
The house itself: a nice villa
The room: a nice room with a bathroom and a balcony.
Breakfast on the terrace in the sun.
The place is run by a charming couple Margarida and Duarte, who were always ready to phone a taxi for me.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christiaan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed there for 6 nights and cannot find any fault.

The rooms are a good size, inclusive of a aircon and with a flat screen tv.

Margereta and her husband are so friendly. She even helped our friends with their tour and they were not even staying there, they just dropped in to see us.

They have BBQ (braai) facilities, which is rare to find and is the best way to end a busy day of sightseeing, chilling in the garden with an ice cold SuperBok around the fire.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch0kka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

I can't recommend this guesthouse highly enough. Margerita and Duarte were friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Clean, quiet, very pleasant rooms. Excellent location - a few minutes walk from town centre.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shogdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed at the Dolce Cascais for three nights -- as an alternative to being in Lisbon proper. Cascais is a half hour train ride away and it is a wonderful place to base yourself if you want to explore Lisbon and also the coastal region just to the west. The Guest House is brand new (opened this summer) and it sparkles with a clean freshness! It has been decorated with an artistic flair that is absolutely wonderful. The art, the photography -- all of it is tasteful and extremely well done. Margarida, who, along with her husband, owns and runs the guest house is unbelievably generous with her time and willingness to help in any way. The Guest House is a bit of a walk from the train station (maybe 25 minutes) and though there is a bus, she was always happy to drop us off in town in the morning (we always walked on the return). In the evenings, we chose to eat in the neighborhood of the Guest House. There are wonderful choices: small places where neighborhood people eat. Oh, and did I mention the rate? In January -- off season to be sure (which is great! Cascais is uncrowded then) -- we paid 40 Euros per night for the two of us, including breakfast! I had read that daily clean up service is not included, but the fact is that our room was made up every day, so perhaps in less busy times this added perk is thrown in. Absolutely the best bargain in all of Europe. Don't let the price fool you into thinking you're in a basic accommodation. It's a very very pretty place. We wont forget this superb oasis of calm.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in August. Rooms are small but clean, bright and contemporary, with TV and air- conditioning. Our room had a pleasant terrace overlooking the garden, which is green and cool, and my daughter particulary loved the hammock.

The whole of the ground floor is shared by all guests, with a dining area, kitchen and huge TV with various DVDs. Perfect for relaxing after sight seeing or visiting the beach.

You rely on the consideration of other guests, as sound proofing is not great and all floors are wood. However, saying that, we all slept really well. You also need to bear in mind that your room will not be cleaned and made up every day (not a huge deal for us, but important for some, I know).

The location is a little out of the centre, and you need to get a bus (1.90 euros per person one way) or a taxi (c. 4 euros, depending on amount of luggage) into town. For us, this was the only downside of this hotel. But do bear in mind we were travelling with a 3 year old - so walks of any distance were out of the question (Portuguese pavements are a challenge for anyone pushing a buggy....)

The really great thing about this hotel which made it worth an "excellent" rating is its host - Margarida - who was so kind and thoughtful - nothing seemed to much trouble for her. Dolce Cascais is a complete antidote to big, impersonal hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKLBrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

We are very pleased to announce that we have had a wonderful vacation at this hotel for many reasons. Clean, well equipped rooms with TV and air condition, nice garden, free access to internet, proper breakfast and a genuine family feeling are some of the reasons to choose this comfortable hotel.

We would like to dedicate special thanks to Margarida and Duarte for their excellent service and restaurant recommendations during our stay.
Thanks a lot and hope to see again in the future.
Best regards Dani & Nick

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danigbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

Dolce Cascais was a very pleasant surprise in our trip. The hostel was opened few weeks ago, so everything was brand new and the owners where still working on minor details. Rooms were spacious and comfortable, with AC, TV with cable, and a private bathroom. Having breakfast in the mornings felt like being at home, and it was included. Margarida was a great and kind host, she even picked me up from the downtown upon my arrival!

I traveled to Portugal with three friends and our plan was to spend the day at the beach and go out for dinner and drinks at night. We didn't want to spend much time at the hostel, we just needed a nice, safe place where to take a shower and sleep. But this place is even better, we actually ended up spending time in the big living room and outside patio just chilling. If that's your plan, Dolce Cascais is the perfect place for you at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinFerraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#14 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#15 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Charm of Cascais
The Charm of Cascais
#4 of 39 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ljmonade Hostel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Cascais Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Cascais Guest House

Property: Dolce Cascais Guest House
Address: Rua Joaquim Ereira 1114 | Bairro do Rosario, Cascais 2750-390, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolce Cascais Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Cascais, a charming guest house located in a residential area in Cascais, offers you a unique concept with 8 cosy and comfortable thematic bedrooms, all with private bathrooms. If you are seeking a getaway or accommodation for your holiday, stay with us and experience the Portuguese comfort and hospitality at affordable prices. The superb location makes it easy to discover Cascais downtown as well as the Estoril and Guincho coast with the beautiful and sunny beaches, the towns of Estoril and Sintra and the magnificent city of Lisbon. If you are looking for history and culture, stay with us and spend a day in Lisbon or Sintra. If you are looking for sports, stay with us and spend a day in Cascais, sailing, playing golf, tennis, surfing or simply jogging and biking along the coast. If you are looking for adventure, stay with us and spend an adventurous day in Sintra Mountains. If you are looking for sun and relax, stay with us and spend the day on the beach or in our garden. If you are looking for nightlife, stay with us and discover the bars, restaurants and discos in the Cascais Marina and downtown.In walking distance you will find a multiple offer of restaurants serving traditional Portuguese food, supermarkets, bakery and small shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Dolce Cascais Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing