We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snobby on a Monday night... ”
Review of Hemingway Cascais

Hemingway Cascais
Reserve with
Hemingway Cascais is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 534 Restaurants in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $78
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fine Dining Restaurant by reservation. Amazing terrace during the four seasons, very well knowned for the best fruit & classic cocktails in town always with a fantastic music! Excellent service in a cosy and casual athmosphere.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Snobby on a Monday night... ”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The service at this restaurant was horrible. We were a group of 8 people. It took 30 minutes to get a drink menu. We told them we were hungry and wanted the menu and they were more interested in filling our glasses with water and giving us wet hand towels.

After getting the drink menus, the waitress took one order and disappeared. This was 45 minutes after being seated. When we asked the manager to be served he got angry at us and told us we were too big of a group.

I would not recommend this place if you are in a group. It's also much more expensive than what TripAdvisor says.

Helpful?
4 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    153
    42
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“More upmarket but fantastic value for money”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We hadn't booked but managed to get in OK.We were pleased we did as not only was the food top class but also the service was Michelin star class.As well as a tasting menu they have a la carte and it is served with great panache.Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trafalgar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fabulous! The best restaurant we found in the area!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Amazing across all aspects of the meal - we were so glad we found this restaurant - due to the reviews on Tripadvisor.

Exciting location on the first floor overlooking the marina with a view across the bay towards Estoril and beyond.

Outstanding service from all the waiting staff. Very professional, courteous, friendly and good spoken English when describing the delicious food.

Beautiful cocktails before dinner. Very extensive wine list and superb explanation from the owner who took care of our every desire throughout the whole dining experience.

The food ..... probably the best meal we have had, certainly during this holiday in Lisbon and Estoril. Beautifully presented, and delicious. A varied and extensive menu which we all enjoyed choosing from.

Overall an outstanding experience and we would highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 64holidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Our dinner at Hemingway's was quite simply the highlight of two weeks of dining throughout Spain and Portugal. The service was impeccable, the food creative and delicious, the setting overlooking a marina and the ocean, and an owner fully passionate about every aspect of his restaurant. The service included a staff in white gloves who delivered each course by presenting the plates for every person at the table at precisely the same time. Then Pedro, the owner, came to the table and described each dish in detail, including tips on exactly how best to eat the dish. The mushroom soup was very flavorful and delicious, but the Hunter Sausage appetizer was world class. It is not what you would expect. No giant link of cheap meat here. It was a small but impressive tower, that was beautiful eye food. A not so sweet potato ring topped with a single slice of very delicate chicken sausage topped by a deep fried, yet fully runny, egg yolk, and decorated with a tart green sauce. Pedro gave instructions on how to eat it that brought together the very complex favors in the perfect way. It was simply incredible. The duck main course was perfectly cooked and very well seasoned. The rock bass was equally delicious, and the desserts beautiful and terrific. Additionally, there was a tasty chefs selection and after dinner liqueur complements of the house.

The total experience of Hemingway's was most definitely meritorious of a Michelin star or two. It so far and away outclassed anything else we sampled in Spain and Portugal that it is hard to imagine it has not yet been discovered by the august organization.

Pedro's response when asked if he was attempting to get a star explains exactly why he should get one. He said, "I am not trying. I just want to be a better restaurant today then we were yesterday." If he does that each day he will earn that honor for sure. Outstanding!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ebyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Waited 2 hours for our main course!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Arrived at Hemingway at 2030. We were seated straight away. Took a long time to get menu and a pre dinner drink. My Partner got his but it was difficult to get the attention of a waiter to get mine. There was a lot of staff for the amount of customers. We got our starter an hour after arriving and it was another hour before we got our main. I cannot judge the meal because I had eaten so much bread! The manager apologised to us as we left! Wouldnt go back :(

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyWestGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemingway Cascais also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Hemingway Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing