We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, Great staff and Great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masala Indian Restaurant

Masala Indian Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 525 Restaurants in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Bem-Vindo ao Restaurante MASALA. Cozinha Indiana Excepcional! Situado no coração de Cascais, este restaurante é o local ideal para apreciar uma refeição saborosa, num ambiente relaxante, a um preço razoável. Uma boa selecção de pratos vegetarianos estão disponíveis. Veja a nossa Ementa! Os cozinheiros peritos e os nossos produtos originais são a garantia de que vai desfrutar do verdadeiro sabor da cozinha indiana original.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great food, Great staff and Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

When we go on holiday we always try and find a good Indian restaurant, do most of our research on trip advisor, where else :o), after reading the good reports about Masala we went on our second night in Cascais, we were not disappointed, the restaurant, although not large, is a decent size and by 8pm it was full.

The staff were very attentive and made sure they understoos exactly what we had oredered, the food itself was well presented and was of a very high quality, both in terms of the meat and taste.

We enjoyed it that much, we went back before the end of our 12 day holiday.

I would highly recommend Masala for anyone looking for great food and great service served in a great atmosphere and also great value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dannyscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    366
    83
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Angles, France
Level Contributor
107 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The hottest biryani I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had lunch in this great Indian restaurant on our recent holiday. The food was excellent, well-spiced and very tasty. The service was very good and the menu is extremely varied. As vegetarians we were well catered for - a considerable part of the menu is veggie. Highly recommended and we'll be eating there on our next trip to Portugal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Indian with great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great restaurant, staff are very helpful and extremely nice. The food was lovely and plentiful with plenty and plenty of choice. Nice atmosphere and nicely done inside.

Reasonable price, great for famileis, couples and big groups.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shoecrazybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Indian restaurant in Cascais”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We read some wonderful reviews for this place and decided to try it out for lunch. We were not disappointed. The location was great. The staff was very warm and welcoming, the service was great, the ambience lovely and the food and it's presentation wonderful. The starter (on the house), pappadum with 3 sauces, was the perfect start. We ordered the lamb vindaloo, the saag paneer, naan breads, a Kingfisher beer and the house red wine. The entrees were flavorful, spicy and delicious. The breads were done just right. My wife thought the wine was really good and paired with the vindaloo, just perfect. The staff was friendly, accommodating (we walked in about 10 mins. before they close mid-day) and social. They offered a 20% lunch discount, which was a nice little benefit to have. We had a great overall lunch experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rohit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is one of the best Indian meals we have ever had ANYWHERE!

You would be foolish to go to Cascais and not visit here if you like genuine Indian food.

All of the staff are brilliant and the owner makes sure you are well looked after - he even greeted us in the street a couple of times during our holiday

Not only is it superb food but it is also very well priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Otuama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Indian Restaurant also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Masala Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing