We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, but need to concentrate on the service.”

Masala Indian Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 550 Restaurants in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bem-Vindo ao Restaurante MASALA. Cozinha Indiana Excepcional! Situado no coração de Cascais, este restaurante é o local ideal para apreciar uma refeição saborosa, num ambiente relaxante, a um preço razoável. Uma boa selecção de pratos vegetarianos estão disponíveis. Veja a nossa Ementa! Os cozinheiros peritos e os nossos produtos originais são a garantia de que vai desfrutar do verdadeiro sabor da cozinha indiana original.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice food, but need to concentrate on the service.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Visited this restaurant after seeing good reviews on Trip Advisor. A little disappointed with the waiter service, in that they did not right down the order and then a couple of things were wrong with the order.

Plain rice rather than Pilau rice, plain nan rather than cheese nan. Having said that, the food was very tasty.

Also, normally, when you order 4 poppadoms, you expect to get 4 poppadoms, not 2 broken into 4 halves.

Nice meal, and reasonably priced, but wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masalacascais, Owner at Masala Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thanks million for review.it happned because of extra staff in summer.in future we will try our best for every thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    395
    93
    33
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“best indian ive been to in ages”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

it was a busy restaurant so we had a wait for half an hour but took that as a good sign and we were not disappointed! the waiter was lovely,recommended we shared a rice as generous sizes, had a lovely bottle of sauvignon and our meal was delicious, even a free starter to share...would go back again and thoroughly recommend it 35 euros for the meal for two was great included he wine!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorsetSusiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must try”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

When in Cascais, I would highly recommend the indian Restaurant Masala, it is two minutes from the beachThe Proprietor is very personable and fiercely proud of the dishes he serves. The main courses sampled by my family and I were all delicious, beautifully presented.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Usa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had a nice meal here on a recent trip to cascais. Food was good, service was fine. I would return.
The place itself although small does notseem crowded even when busy. the Aromas when walking past would draw you in.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dollos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good indian food - BUT think I got food poisoning here!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The atmosphere here was good. My boyfriend and I had to wait a very long time to get our food after we ordered, and that was no good. We had the Chicken Tikka Marsala and the Jalfrezi. Both were good, same was the naans and rice. But however, the morning after I got really sick and all the symptoms where food poisoning. And it cannot have been any other restaurant. Therefore it is very hard to rate this restaurant since the food was good, but since I got sick I would never go back there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank N0rwegianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masalacascais, Owner at Masala Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
How its possible to get food posionig from GOOD FOOD? as you wrote sir/madam.Chicken tikka masala and jalfarezi the best of the best its impossible.All the symptoms were food posioning but you are not sure it can be from lunch or late night bits and drops.
Sir/Madam Masala is one of the best indian restaurant on estoril coast recomended by tripadvisor and other tourist guides in world Rating 4.5 out of 5 its not a joke and i very

Sure this is our hard work and quality food service. As MASALA works well we have to prepare every thing fresh and every day. It never ever happened and i never thought in my 8 years experince.I dont understand your review Sir/Madam..... It seems to be somebody from our competition !!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Indian Restaurant also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Masala Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing