We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Batalha
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best in class”
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Brilliant. Don't even bother looking at other places. This small modernised place is brilliant, and the owner could not be more helpful. If one is free, ask for a room overlooking the cathedral/monastery.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venividivice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    81
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
88
179
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Stayed only one night in this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly, the room was a little small but very comfortable, modern and very clean. It was the best place we stayed in Portugal. Right behind this hotel is a wine bar where we had one of the best meals in the country. If you decide to visit Batalha, try to stay here....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinkyrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ex1
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

looking for somewhere to stay in this part of portugal i saw this hotel reviewed in tripadvisor and decided to book a couple of nights, a wise decision.
the hotel was easy to find and, only having 15 rooms, parking was easy and free just outside the hotel.
the young lady at reception was very welcoming and insisted on showing us to our room herself, she helped us with our luggage and seemed happy in her work, a contrast with some much larger establishments i have stayed at.
there isn't a restaurant in the hotel however the breakfast that is served is a little limited but absolutely fine with fresh juice and bread regularly topped up by a lady who waits discreetly in an adjoining room.
the small gym and pool room were clean and free and the swimming pool and area also was a welcome retreat for spendng some time just relaxing.
all in all, a really lovely little place that i would happily come back to.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freyas_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We really enjoyed this hotel. The decor had personality. The staff was extremely friendly and recommended places to eat in town. The view of the monastery from the room was great. Parking was easy. The town is super quiet at night, but that is what we wanted -
an easy place from which to explore the area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmreves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Wow! I'm trying to think of something really negative about this place - well, ok, maybe that it is on a steep hill. But that means you get a better view of the cathedral. Staff was so helpful, hotel room was spotlessly clean, breakfasts were fine. We had no problem speaking English at this hotel.

Our room had a small balcony and overlooked the cathedral, great view at night! The bed was a little harder than I like, and the bathroom was a little cramped, but it was all very clean and nicely decorated. Even the public areas of the hotel are filled with artwork and feel bright and airy. The pool area looked really nice as did the small gym and billiards room.

Restaurant suggestions by the hotel staff were also spot on - don't miss A Cave's espitado misto or dining at Burro Velho.

to illustrate how nice the staff was: We were having trouble with the internet connection (some setting in my laptop that I didn't get resolved until the last night we were in Portugal), but the desk staff were absolutely wonderful trying to help me get connected even though we were not able to resolve the problem(including having their systems consultant work with me on it). That level of assistance was really over-the-top and really appreciated.

  • Liked — Location, great staff
  • Disliked — Limited elevator service - if you can't take luggage up stairs, ask for a room on the lower floors. Elevators do not go to the top floors.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MGCTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at Casa do Outeiro last week, and it was the perfect place to spend our first night in Portugal. This charming little hotel is perfectly located in the center of Batalha, less than a five minute walk to the huge monastery, yet it was perfectly quiet and charming.

The owner, Mr. Victor Madeira, checked us in quickly and escorted us to our room, #302. The first thing you notice is the wonderful art decorating the walls. The hotel has a modern feel to it, but it is extremely comfortable. Our room was beautifully appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the ensuite bathroom was nice and spacious. We had a small balcony that overlooked the backyard and the pool...a little chilly to go swimming, but we could still partake in the entertainment center and pool table on the ground level.

The hotel is a short walk up a hill, but not inconvenient or unmanageable....we were able to park right in front of the hotel without any problem. We took a wonderful stroll in the evening when the town quieted down and found a wonderful cafe about five minutes' walk from the monastery (which is beautiful to walk around in the evening without the crowds.) We also found a great little market to buy water, fresh bread, and lunch meats...a perfect snack to enjoy in the little park around the monastery.

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful....breads, meats, cheeses, delicious jams (fig, pumpkin, tomato!) fresh-squeezed orange juice, coffee, and yogurt. We will definitely be back. This property should be a four-star hotel, not just a two-star hotel because of the wonderful service and amenities offered. Great deal.

  • Liked — The at-home feeling from the staff and the comfortable accommodations
  • Disliked — We could only stay one night
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Peter10573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

EXCELLENT hotel in Batalha. Go there and you will not regret your stay. The room is big and had a wonderful panorama on the monastery itself. By night, you can sleep viewing the monastery.
The room was new, modern, clean.
The breakfast was also very good with a home-made jam you can buy at the reception.
You can park your car in the parking.
The hotel has a swimming-pool and is located only 5 minutes by foot from the monastery.

If you want to have a good hotel in a charming and quiet village in Portugal, just go to Casa do Outeiro.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank NiniBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batalha
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Batalha
Hotel Villa Batalha
#2 of 4 in Batalha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mestre Afonso Domingues
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residencial Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 39 in Fatima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
13.5 mi away
Miramar Hotel & SPA
Miramar Hotel & SPA
#2 of 10 in Nazare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
6.7 mi away
TRYP Leiria Hotel
TRYP Leiria Hotel
#1 of 11 in Leiria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa do Outeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa do Outeiro

Property: Hotel Casa do Outeiro
Address: Largo Carvalho do Outeiro, 4, Batalha 2440-128, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Batalha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Batalha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa do Outeiro 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy hotel located in the town of Batalha, where some of our 19 rooms have a beautiful view over the Monastery Santa Maria da Vitoria, recognized by UNESCO as World Heritage and one of the 7 Wonders of Portugal. Six of our rooms were fully renovated in Januery 2016 and all others will be entirely new by May 2016. The location of our hotel allows you, apart from enjoying the view, to walk to the monastery and its surrounding plazas, terraces and restaurants, as well as shopping in the regional stores in the town. All rooms offer you a balcony, some of them overlooking the monastery and others the swimming-pool or garden and town mountains; private bathroom/shower; hair dryer; amenities; air-conditioning; cable tv; direct telephone; mini-fridge with free water; clock radio and free internet access. One of the rooms is prepared for guests with special needs. Our hotel also offers private parking, bike facilities (outdoor parking, garage, small office with some tools, bike washing facilities as well as others); outdoor swimming-pool, small gymnasium, billiard table room, small outdoor playground for children, garden, internet and reading room, wireless in all areas and rooms and a living room near the pool where you can taste the homemade cakes and jams, served in our homemade breakfast. All of this included in your stay. Because you will be delighted with these homemade products, you’ll be able to purchase them, as well as other typical products that we have for sale in our small shop. With all this, why don't you come and visit us?... It will be a pleasure to welcome you to this unique environment and of course... in the good old Portuguese way. Let us welcome you with our homemade liquors and typical drinks. Casa do Outeiro is a non smoking hotel. It is not allowed to smoke in any areas or rooms of the hotel, so we ask our guest to respect this rule, using the room balcony and other exterior areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Casa do Outeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Outeiro Batalha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing