We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Batalha
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Casa do Outeiro is one of those hotels you wish you could find in every place you visit. I was booked in for one night, basically to visit the Santa Maria monastery (which is amazing) and decided to base myself here for an extra night whilst visiting the Convento do Cristo in Tomar and also Coimbra, both easy drives. It is like staying at home. Everything is immaculately clean, service is great, management (and owner) very friendly and helpful, and the price is right. Walking distance to the cathedral and everything else in town. Don't miss the market on Monday.

Room Tip: I was in rear room overlooking a wine adega and the panoramic countryside. I understand front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ipd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    81
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
85
176
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Spotless clean, new furnishing, cozy atmosphere, very friendly management!

The hotel is 2 minutes from the monestary. You are offered welcome liquor tasting and delicious home cooked breakfast! The room has everything you need.

This is one of the best hotels I have been to in Europe, highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelife123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We loved this place. The room with the view of the cathedral was superb. We enjoyed the swimmingpool. The people at the reception desk are very friendly. A place we would highly recommend to anyone travelling to Batalha. A real treasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Els V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

A beautiful, friendly place to stay with very attractive rooms - ours overlooked the swimming pool and the countryside beyond. Very easy access to the heritage site and the restaurants around the centre. A good breakfast was offered and the pool was a bonus. The manager was very helpful with suggestions of places to visit on our onward journey.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Excellent small modern hotel in a great location at a reasonable price.

Our room was small but had everything we needed. Very pretty balcony surrounded by greenery overlooking the Monastery (with a nice view of it), nice bath with a good shower, hot pot to make coffee or tea, TV, AC/Heat, very good WiFi connection, comfortable bed. Simple but good breakfast.

The immediate area (walking distance) has plenty of shops, supermarket, ATMs,restaurants. Parking was not a problem. This hotel would be a good base for visiting the area - there are many sights to be seen within a fairly short driving distance including Tomar, Oerum, Obidos and Alcobaça.

We booked last minute and asked for a Monastery view - got it! Be sure to ask if that is important to you.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the Monastery
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

very clean, very nice to stay. the prices are good.
nearby the monastery.
I spend there tree days and was a very nice time. Of course the breakfast is not great(like in a 5 stars) but is good
make sure you choose a room overlooking the monastery

Room Tip: there are rooms with the best view. You can have a room with a widow to the monastery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lopo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
212 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Having stayed in over 100 hotels, B&Bs, etc, and always noting all pros and cons to our accommodation, this is one of the rare times in over 20 years of travelling, that we couldn't find a "con" to this hotel.

This hotel is very clean, bright, and well-maintained. Our bedroom had an excellent view of the monastery and was close enough to walk to it. We also had a balcony to enjoy the night lights from. It was easy to find and parking was provided. This hotel is also within easy walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

Our bedroom was furnished very comfortably, with the bathroom being equally clean and modern.

There is a kettle in the room, and wifi was very strong.

Breakfast was included and had a nice variety of choices, and featured their homemade jams, and baked goods.

This hotel had the feeling of quiet professionalism, with a personal touch. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Batalha.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaDoOuteiro, Gerente at Hotel Casa do Outeiro, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your pleasant review. Thank you for choosing our small hotel during your stay in Batalha.

It is very importante for us to hear and read the opinion from all our guests, specially from such experienced guests.

Hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batalha
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Batalha
Hotel Villa Batalha
#2 of 4 in Batalha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mestre Afonso Domingues
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residencial Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 39 in Fatima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
13.5 mi away
Miramar Hotel & SPA
Miramar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 10 in Nazare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
6.7 mi away
TRYP Leiria Hotel
TRYP Leiria Hotel
#1 of 11 in Leiria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa do Outeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa do Outeiro

Property: Hotel Casa do Outeiro
Address: Largo Carvalho do Outeiro, 4, Batalha 2440-128, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Batalha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Batalha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa do Outeiro 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy hotel located in the town of Batalha, where some of our 19 rooms have a beautiful view over the Monastery Santa Maria da Vitoria, recognized by UNESCO as World Heritage and one of the 7 Wonders of Portugal. Six of our rooms were fully renovated in Januery 2016 and all others will be entirely new by May 2016. The location of our hotel allows you, apart from enjoying the view, to walk to the monastery and its surrounding plazas, terraces and restaurants, as well as shopping in the regional stores in the town. All rooms offer you a balcony, some of them overlooking the monastery and others the swimming-pool or garden and town mountains; private bathroom/shower; hair dryer; amenities; air-conditioning; cable tv; direct telephone; mini-fridge with free water; clock radio and free internet access. One of the rooms is prepared for guests with special needs. Our hotel also offers private parking, bike facilities (outdoor parking, garage, small office with some tools, bike washing facilities as well as others); outdoor swimming-pool, small gymnasium, billiard table room, small outdoor playground for children, garden, internet and reading room, wireless in all areas and rooms and a living room near the pool where you can taste the homemade cakes and jams, served in our homemade breakfast. All of this included in your stay. Because you will be delighted with these homemade products, you’ll be able to purchase them, as well as other typical products that we have for sale in our small shop. With all this, why don't you come and visit us?... It will be a pleasure to welcome you to this unique environment and of course... in the good old Portuguese way. Let us welcome you with our homemade liquors and typical drinks. Casa do Outeiro is a non smoking hotel. It is not allowed to smoke in any areas or rooms of the hotel, so we ask our guest to respect this rule, using the room balcony and other exterior areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa do Outeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Outeiro Batalha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing