We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view on Batalha monastery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lis Batalha Mestre Afonso Domingues
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Batalha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Located oposit of Batalha monastery this is best possible location in Batalha. We enjoyed our evening sitting outside and watching the monastery. Breakfast is excellent. Parking is easy.
Staff very friendly. Big beds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darija5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 482 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I keep coming again and again to this lovely hotel in Batalha. I am a tour guide and I never ever miss staying there 2 nights on my trips.

The location is unique - 50 meters from Batalha monastery - one of the most beautiful sites in Portugal. The owner is lovely. Food and service is excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical except 2 single rooms which are small. It is a small hotel - 22 rooms if I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadi O o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I loved the hotel : Lovely room and very warm and helpful staff ( I appreciated very much they prepared coffee from the machine in the morning for breakfast)
The views over the monastery are fantastic and I fell in love with the small town of Batalha.
Indeed : It was one of my best holidays ever and I am grateful with the Hotel staff and direction as they helped very much to that.
I love Portugal and its people, their culture, cuisine and way of life.
Beijinhos from Madrid

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views to the monastery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed only for one night. The location was perfect right by the monastry. We had a nice welcome and good service at the reception. The breakfast was good. Rooms were nice and clean. Parking at the entrace of the hotel. And a short walking distance to the monastry.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GogTOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A small modern well maintained hotel with quality furnishings, every detail has been considered and everything looks cared for (even the grass outside the front!). The breakfast has plenty of choice and is attractively laid out. Wonderful views of the monastery from the dining room. Friendly and helpful staff. We loved it here and stayed for 3 nights using it as a base to cover Tomar, Fatima, Alcobaca and Obidos. Batalha itself is very pleasant but does not have much other than the monastery and is very quiet in the evenings,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Don't be fooled by what looks like a cheap motel on the outside -once you enter it is a modern and very tastefully decorated hotel. Our room was spacious, fresh and simply lovely! The staff was friendly and informative. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful. This has to be the best bargain in Portugal - with the awesome view of the monastery to boot! A very special stop over for us - worth choosing Batalha.

Room Tip: Ask for monastery view - it's very quiet at night so any floor is fine. We were lucky yo be upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

very tastefully decorated rooms. a little on the small side but fully equipped and functional. even tea and coffee facilities, a rarity in portugal.excellent location for visiting the monastery and surrounding ones in tomar etc... pleasant bathroom with very good shower. the food in the restaurant was really recommendable.good breakfast. overall a very good and unexpected experience for such a small town. two nights is enough to see it all. friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bougainville58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batalha
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Batalha
Hotel Villa Batalha
#3 of 4 in Batalha
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
#1 of 4 in Batalha
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residencial Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Your Hotel & Spa Alcobaca
5.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Leiria Fatima
8.3 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 41 in Fatima
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lis Batalha Mestre Afonso Domingues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lis Batalha Mestre Afonso Domingues

Address: Largo Mestre Afonso Domingues 6, Batalha 2440-102, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Batalha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Batalha
Price Range: $69 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lis Batalha Mestre Afonso Domingues 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Centre of the village of Batalha, where the calm and serenity of the past can be experienced with the comfort of our days, and in a historical setting you can find Hotel Mestre Afonso Domingues situated side by side with the monastery of Santa Maria da Vitória, in the Centre of the village of Batalha. The Hotel Lis Batalha Mestre Afonso Domingues has 40 rooms including 2 suites, 1 double room equipped for people with reduced mobility and 8 superior rooms overlooking the Monastery of Batalha, all distinctly decorated and personalized. For maximum comfort in your stay, all rooms are equipped with TV LCD, minibar, hair dryer, scale, Magnifying mirror, bathrobes, direct telephone, air conditioning, convenience for coffee / tea, individual safe (free), Internet (free), some with balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lis Batalha Mestre Afonso Domingues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing