We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Batalha
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Batalha
Certificate of Excellence
Co. Louth, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel and it really is a lovely place to stay with tasteful modern decor. It is more of a business hotel rather than a tourist one and there were two big conferences going on when we were there but that did not bother us in any way. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially the bar staff who made a great effort to explain the menu in English. The food was very good too. We stayed in a junior suite and it was very spacious with a good size bathroom. There are no balconies on the rooms to sit out on. The hotel is environmentally friendly with all the lights going on an off as you walk in and out of the rooms.
The only down side for us was that I booked the hotel because I saw that they had an indoor swimming pool. It is not stated on the web site that this is a small spa pool and to use the pool costs €7.50 extra per person. If we both used the pool this would have added a considerable extra cost to our stay so I was very disappointed that I had been misled. I understand that you have to pay extra for activities such as golf or treatments in the spa but when a hotel advertises a pool in their facilities you are not normally charged extra and a lot extra in this case.
You can walk to the abbey and the little town of Batalha from the hotel and if you are interested in sports there is a great sports facility including a running track right beside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonniepippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    130
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
92
180
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foster City, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Great modern hotel, a real 4 star in the very convenient location, great rooms, excellent and very reasonable restaurant, good for any meal. Excellent and pretty empty spa :)

Brand new sports complex right outside the hotel with jogging path, tons of restaurants and coffe shops right outside, Monastery of Batalha is like 5 min walk.

Room Tip: We had a Jr suite to the back of the hotel on a creek and a small golf course, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RostG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed one night, and enjoyed the hotel very much. Modern, but elegant decor, spotlessly clean, nice-sized room with a huge shower (no tub), and the most comfortable beds in Portugal, I suspect! The staff was friendly and helpful. We had dinner in their dining room, and found the menu to be varied and creative. The food was very good, and as the serving sizes were more modest than is often the case in Portugal, one had room to enjoy a starter or dessert. Breakfast was a good buffet with the usual juice, fruit, bread, rolls, cheese, yogourt etc. There is a bar and lounge, a spa, and a small swimming pool at the hotel. The beautiful Monastery of Bathalha is within easy walking distance. We highly recommend the Hotel Batalha both for itself, and for its location .... convenient for visiting Fatima and Tomar etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I had a 3 days business meeting in March 2012.

The hotel its just 3 minutes from the Monastery of Batalha. The Batalha village is a small village on the central region of Portugal and a nice place to explore the whole region.

Its near Fátima, Nazaré, Alcobaça and Leiria and only one hour by car from Lisbon.

The Hotel its almost new, with excellent amenities. Good sleeping rooms, excellent rooms for meetings. Excellent staff

Its a bit strange top have so much for so little money. Its a bargain

i'll advise and recommend the Hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Costa_Alves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Using a simple, clean and modern decoration, Hotel Villa Batalha is a great, valuable place to stay around Batalha. The staff was really friendly who offered an upgrade to the Suite Master, which was big enough and definitely clean.

What just didn't seem believable was that the hotel didn't have rooms with tubs. The only thing they could get us, was a movable bathtub that not even a personal would almost fit there. Just didn't seemed smart, in my opinion, not to have different sort of rooms for all types of customers.

However, the Spa was nice and the swimming pool pretty great with an amazing view of the city. Overall, a really nice hotel with pretty decent prices that aren't often seen for this kind of quality.

Room Tip: Try the Master Suite, that offer good space and are beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Not fancy but nice, modern and clean hotel, with a lovely bathroom and a fantastic view of the cathedral! Would surely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I found this hotel based solely on the tripadvisor reviews, and I have to say, I'm glad I did. It was excellent.We were there in the off season, so it was virtually empty, but still, it was incredibly comfortable, and the staff was very accommodating. The rooms are particularly nice, as are the beds and the bathroom.

I have two suggestions for the management. First, don't charge for Internet in the room. Even if you add €5 to the bill, don't charge extra for it. Secondly, don't charge for use of the spa. At €7.50, it wasn't worth it. But those are my only complaints. Everything else was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StorytellerBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batalha
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lis Batalha Mestre Afonso Domingues
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
#1 of 4 in Batalha
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residencial Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
13.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Monte Real
Palace Hotel Monte Real
#1 of 6 in Monte Real
803 reviews
11.5 mi away
Your Hotel & Spa Alcobaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Batalha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Batalha

Property: Hotel Villa Batalha
Address: Rua de Dom Duarte I no 248, Batalha 2440-505, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Batalha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Batalha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Batalha 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having the "Mosteiro da Batalha" World Heritage only 400 metres away and side by side with "Lena River", Villa Batalha Hotel has 93 rooms of different areas and characteristics where comfort is assured: a restful mattress and pillow and a soothing shower is only the beginning of everything else. Villa Batalha is proud to be one of the few in Portugal with mobility access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Batalha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing