We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful local dishes”
Review of Santo a mesa

Santo a mesa
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Estremadura
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
Restaurant details
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful local dishes”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Close to our hotel we ended up by eating here twice during our stay.
The food is delicious and simple as most local dishes should be. Tender steak and tasty fish.
Angel is a very warm and generous hostess offering numerous samples of food and tipples "a casa".
Definitely worth a visit if you want to sample good Portuguese hospitality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly local restaurant with great food.”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We were staying at the very pleasant As Janelas Verdes hotel nearby, this was the only nearby restaurant open in the early evening. Nice atmosphere inside with lots of plants, seemed to be linked to the Florists next door but one. We felt the lady serving made a great effort to make us feel at home and to help us understand the menu, which had some English translation on it, she did not speak much English herself. The plates of cheese, olives etc. brought out when we sat down were great as was the steak I had and the sardines my partner had. We were charged about 30 euros each (including a half bottle of wine). Very glad we found it and would recommend without hesitation. We also were offered a nice free port to finish with and some chocolates after receiving the bill.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, a very friendly owner... it's a definite YES :)”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We found this place randomly on our way back from Belem (bus 272 stops nearby) on a Saturday afternoon, sat outside under a parasol on a quiet street surrounded by lovely flower pots and facing a small square with a church.

As always in Lisbon they bring you a few plates with cheese, olives, beens etc. by means of appetizers which you may or may not eat (then you don't pay). We had a soup of the day and filled mushrooms as starters and a beef steak and shrimps as the main course. The shrimps were served in a casserole with a sauce made of bread (!), egg and herbs - we've never had anything similar before. It was a surprising mixture but very nice. The steak was well above 400g and delicious, served with chips. The owner clearly didn't try to economize. All was tasty and hearty, not sophisticated but probably very authentic. A place where locals would (and did) eat too.

After we paid (about 30 euro per person,including a coffee, beers and water), the lady who runs the place came with a bottle of Porto and left it at our table for us to serve as much as we felt like and came back after a while with a few chocolate pralines. She couldn't speak a word English but was friendly and helpful.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asdf0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“AN AMAZING MEAL/HOSPITALITY”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We were in Lisbon to catch a cruise ship and happened to be there on a Monday. We walked miles, hoping to get a feel for the city in one day. It started to rain. Then it started to pour. Around seven in the evening we were starving only to find out that EVERYTHING is closed on Mondays. Every restaurant, shop, stall we passed was closed. Soaked to the skin, we were readyt to give up when we saw lights on in Santo a Mesa. We opened the door and walked through a small flower shop and into a beautiful little restaurant. White table cloths, lovely table settings. There wasn't a soul in the place and it was near eight o'clock. Fromt he back came a lovely older man who offered to let us sit despite the fact that we were soaked to the skin. It soon became clear he didn't speak English. He sent out his wife wtih menus and we found - she didn't speak a word of English either. Through sign language and laughter we ordered win and dinner - though our hostess actually made the choices. The man put on his chef's hat and cooked for us. We sat for over an hour eating, drinking our excellent wine, refusing the overly generous offers of more bread and more cheese. Half way through our dinner, our hostess brought three flowers for our table - that she indicated we were to take with us. We ate wonderful thinly sliced lamb and savory chicken and had the most marvelous desert - although I can't tell you exactly what it was. The bread was fresh, the cheeses excellent but it was the hospitality that truly was exquisite. The proprietors of Santo a Mesa could easily have turned us away, back into the rain, late at night on a Monday. Instead, they welcomed us, entertained us, fed us and made a memory for us that will last forever. Santo de Mesa is near the port in town right across from a small church. It is well worth seeking it out. I certainly will next time I'm in Lisbon.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaForster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santo a mesa also viewed

 
Estremadura, Portugal
 
Estremadura, Portugal
Estremadura, Portugal
 

Been to Santo a mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing