We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In provincial Viseu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Moinho de Vento
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Viseu
Krasnodar, Russia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“In provincial Viseu”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is located not far from the central square of the city (about somewhat 200 meters) and from local bus station (10-15 minute walk). But near the bus station we met nobody who could inform us about the distance and direction to the hotel. We found it only after half an hour of hard searching. The hotel has a lift. The room and bathroom unit is spacious enough. On the bed there were clean linen and warm blankets. Comfortable mattress. In the shower room I saw a hairdryer. Breakfast is included into the rate. This is not often found in similar hotels of Portugal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
6
12
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The location is the best of this hotel, free parking is fine. Furtermore is it outdated and there is also a little bit a strange smell at the room. Breakfast is simple, but they can serve the fruit better!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roeldutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Viseu hotels

Setubal, Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

following the tips on here, we boked the superior room, meaning the 3rd flood one.
Plenty of space and reasonable furniture.

The mini-fridge stank, and when opening, the room kinda smelled too, but we could open the window... thank god for incense sticks!
The plumbing also had a smell, like they weren't used for a while.
The windows were dirty, with dust and the rain (although it was a hot week)

We were very welcomed by the receptionist, who guided us by phone as the city is in construction / road pavement and we were driving in circles in viseu.
After checking in, we only walked through the city: The old town, the historic buildings, the funiculaire (dunno how to say it in english, is like the one they have in Montmatre/ Paris). Wear confortable shoes when exploring the town, as Viseu is all cobble stone pavement and up and down hill!
The hotel itself is located on a uphill street.
The parking is very narrow and linited, you might have difficulties in parking in front of the hotel or in the same street.

the breakfast was poor, and lacking of so much. THere was: milk, coffee, tea, yogurt, powder dissolved juice (blhahhhh), bread, sweet cake, fresh fruit, cheese and ham, fruit salad (!!). For a non dairy it is even more limited the options...
the elvator was a joke, small as a button, with very sensitive sensors, keeping bringing us down to ground floor! the 2 of us could hardly fit there with out minimal 1 night luggage!

Room Tip: superior room all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlos_e_sofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entroncamento, Portugal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

It's a old and quiet Hotel, well located, good bed's ... but I think that is not 3 star hotel ... maybe 2, no attention to failures and need to be refurbished.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PauloBica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

I've been there about a week.

I went for Viseu for a friend's wedding and he recommended this hotel because he managed to get a real good price (about € 38 / night).
It's a small hotel, near the city center, located in a residential building.
The problem is they had shown to my friend the 3rd floor rooms, which have been redecorated recently. Despite the relative small size (12 square meter plus 3 square meter bathroom), they have wood floor, good beds and a nice view. He got one of those for his last night as single.
The guests, which included me and great part of his family, got the 2nd and 1st floor rooms, which, in benefit of truth and being euphemistic, stuck frozen in the early 80's. Carpet floor, lousy beds (my poor back still remembers) and the bonus for me, a broken toilet seat!!!
Of course, no one complained about this on his wedding date, but in the very next day, he came to me and asked if I shared the same unpleasant feeling that the rest of his family experienced. What could I say...
All in all, the service wasn't that bad, as at 6.30 a.m. I asked the attender for hot water and he promptly and swiftly managed. He wasn't the most pleasant person in the world, but who is at that hour of the day?
Also the rooms were cleaned everyday around 13.00, all the beds were made, but the towels remained the same since day 1.
I must say that I got a fair price for the service, but only because of my friend's negotiation, otherwise and given the balcony prices (€ 60 / room) I would prefer other offers closely located and within the same price range.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmvandrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viseu hotels
0.3 mi away
Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa
0.2 mi away
Grao Vasco Hotel
Grao Vasco Hotel
#4 of 14 in Viseu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Durao
Hotel Durao
#5 of 14 in Viseu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Rubi
Hotel Rubi
#13 of 14 in Viseu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio Dos Melos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moinho de Vento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moinho de Vento

Property: Hotel Moinho de Vento
Address: Rua Paulo Emilio 13, Viseu 3510-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Viseu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Viseu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moinho de Vento 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moinho de Vento Hotel is a 3-star hotel, located in the heart of the city of Viseu. In a prime location, the hotel is close to the city's financial sector, shopping and city's park. The location is quiet and with easy access to any part of the city. A garage is available to serve its 30 double rooms. The hotel provides a conference room with panoramic views with a capacity of 80 persons. This unique place has a conservative decoration nevertheless the fact of offering the best in service in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel provide to its guests services such as: bar, Internet access, fax, room service, "express" laundry cleaning service and rent-a-car. All this, together with a personalised attention, makes the Hotel Moinho de Vento the ideal place for your stay in Viseu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Moinho de Vento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing