We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Viseu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We just spent 3 great nights in a superior room with a balcony and city views. The room was spacious, modern and spotless. The huge central court of this converted hospital functions as bar, lounge and restaurant creating a grand sense of open space (but small children seem fond of the echo effect). Breakfast is perfectly fine. Pleasant outdoor pool and nice indoor spa. Location very good being just out of yet very near city center.
What made our stay extra-special was the staff--uniformly young, bright, sincere and professional. Hats off to Ivan, Sandra and Carlos at the front desk and to Pedro who manages bar and food services for catering to, and often anticipating, our every request. They also helped overcome any wifi hurdles noted in previous reviews.
Viseu is a fine and truly Portugese city with streets that wind up, down and around making it easy (and fun) to get lost. We will return and we will stay here.

Room Tip: Top floor superior room #423 where we stayed has the granite statue of "Hope" ON THE BALCO...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ravennarose96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
There are newer reviews for Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 891 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Wonderful stay at this magnificent hotel...
I already recommended this hotel to friends and family members
Loved the special treatment we had upon arrival, the room was amazing the location is great and the food is fantastic. The rest of the facilities we did not have much time to use but we had a sneak view of it and will definitely return and use it properly....

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bfly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very nice hotel, city center. all in a few minutes walking from the hotel (restaurants, Places of Interests, nightlife,...)
What could be improved: Parking access directly from the hotel, and internet should be free
The breakfast is good, for an hotel with this standing, should be better.

In the rooms, only electrical plugs available at the desk....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jolive75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our first experience of 2 nights in a pousada: it was like a dream! We had booked a standard room, and we got a very large one on the second floor, with kingsize bed, top quality linen, large and very well equipped bathroom. All personnel staff are very attent and do all their best to help you as much as they can whenever you have a question. Food (as well breakfast buffet as dinner) is excellent. Moreover you benefit from a fantastic spa environement, all included in the room price. In comparison with other 4* hotels in Portugal, this is much more value for the money spent (and the price in comparison with other European countries is really cheap for the high value of service and arrangement you get). We will for sure return to it to further discover the region and also try other pousadas.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stroobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here for a one night with a 3-year old during our vacation at Portugal, at room 308 on the 3rd floor.

Pros:
- The room was clean, very spacious, and the bed was huge. We had a really good quality sleep here.
- The building was beautifully restored. I enjoyed looking at the photos displayed throughout the hotel showing how the place was before the renovation and comparing it with the current place.
- There are all the amenities that you'd expect from a high class hotel and more, such as indoor/outdoor swimming pool, gym, spa, etc.
- Walking distance from downtown Viseu. Plenty of parking spots at the hotel.
- Helpful staff.
- Very nice breakfast buffet.

Cons:
- The place felt a bit business-like for a family vacation, and I suspect that this is not the most standard "pousada" experience, as I read that this is one of the largest hotel in the Pouseda chain.

Note, we got a standard room for 58 Euro as a last minute special through "Prestigia.com". That was an amazing bargain.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChihiroSaito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have just spent a weekend in Viseu and stayed at this Pousada. The building was wonderfully rebuilt, keeping the original façade and many of the traits of the old hospital of the Misericórdia. The rooms are very nice and we had one in the first floor that was quite nice.We were shown part of the building, namely the old pharmacy that was kept as it was.The outdoor pool has a great look.
The Pousada is very well located, and everything in the center of the old town is at walking distance.
We did not use the Spa but our friends did and enjoyed it. The only thing we would like to have seen better was the breakfast, that had not so much choice. The service was attentive and nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

By the end of april I had the chance to enjoy the wonderfully preserved building where the Pousada de Viseu is located.
Centrally located in the city without being in the busiest part of town, granting resfull sleep, with staff wishing to please the guests, and with room conditions (space and facilities) that allowed me a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jorge v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viseu
0.7 mi away
Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio Dos Melos
0.1 mi away
Grao Vasco Hotel
Grao Vasco Hotel
#4 of 13 in Viseu
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Principe Perfeito
Principe Perfeito
#6 of 13 in Viseu
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Durao
Hotel Durao
#5 of 13 in Viseu
45 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Urgeirica
Hotel Urgeirica
#1 of 3 in Canas de Senhorim
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa

Address: Rua do Hospital, Viseu 3500-161, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Viseu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viseu
#1 Green Hotel in Viseu
Price Range: $88 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Viseu is located in central Portugal, in the city of Viseu, 5 minutes on foot from the Parque Florestal do Fontelo. It is located in the old Hospital de Sao Teotonio, one of the oldest hospitals of the city, that opened in 1842 and features views of the historic part of the city. This old hospital was completely reconstructed and adapted by architect Goncalo Bryrne in 2009. The hospital is an important landmark in the most peaceful city centre in Portugal. During your stay, you can enjoy the spa, where you can schedule massages and treatments, use the sauna, whirpool bath, gym and Turkish bath as well as a heated indoor swimming pool. For the youngsters, we offer the Kids Club in summer as well as the fantastic outdoor swimming pool. The Pousada also offers a restaurant, a bar, a very unique wine room, a cigar lounge and conference rooms. The rooms are spacious with balconies featuring great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Travelocity, Prestigia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Viseu Charming Hotel Viseu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing