We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil farmhouse with lovely hosts”
Review of Quinta d'Arroteia

Quinta d'Arroteia
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta d'Arroteia
Ranked #8 of 20 Viseu B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Our three nights were delightful. The grounds themselves are amazing - so spacious, with a lovely pool and seperate kitchen/dining 'house' for us to share with the few other guests. The gardens and orchard make a great setting for the main buildings. But the hosts make it a perfect base to explore this area of Portugal. The breakfast each morning is a feast, full of homemade preserves, fresh juice from the orchards and local meats and cheeses. And of course, the bread is to die for.
And the hospitality was wonderful - full of extra thoughtful touches, in the room, at breakfast - you name it - someone was always there to help, to answer a question.
We'd definitely go back for a week next time and spend more time exploring Viseu and the area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoiledSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2008

Last summer I've been to Quinta d'Arroteia, a Rural Tourism house in the centre of Portugal - Viseu. As I couldn't forget how good it was I returned this winter.
I would describe it as a cosy and beautiful place to rest and feel the real and good nature. There, I could enjoy beautiful gardens and a great healthy environment.
In summer time, I enjoyed so much the swimming pool, that it was hard for me to leave it and go and visit the great town Viseu is. Despite the hot weather in Viseu, in Quinta d'Arroteia I could find the most relaxing and fresh place to rest and take a nap.
This winter, I had again a great surprise with this place. Viseu is a very cold town in the winter. However, the fireplace in Quinta d'Arroteia was just amazing and would make everyone forget how cold it was outside.
But this is not all. What I will never forget is how good is the service and how good I was welcome by the owners. They spoil their visitors with a magnificent breakfast, that anyone should try.
I spent there 9 days in summer and 5 days in winter time, for € 60,00 per night, which is a great price attending to the highest quality of the service I found there.
I'm so glad I found this place, that I must tell everyone to try it and enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LisbonRaquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroSilvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helena460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AFCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Viseu hotels
19.8 mi away
Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa
19.1 mi away
Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel
19.8 mi away
Hotel Rubi
Hotel Rubi
#13 of 13 in Viseu
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Pousada de Juventude de Viseu
18.7 mi away
Hotel Durao
Hotel Durao
#5 of 13 in Viseu
46 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio Dos Melos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta d'Arroteia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta d'Arroteia

Address: Rua da Arroteia 3680 | Póvoa de Sobrinhos, Viseu 3515-301, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Viseu
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Viseu
Price Range: $69 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quinta d'Arroteia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing