We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada Ria, Aveiro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Torreira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2011

A very pleasent drive down the coast from Ovar, brought us to the modern Pousada del Ria. The welcome at reception was very good and the man behind the desk even delegated someone to carry our suitcase to our room (I must look older than I am!!). The room looked a little tired, but had all the necessary features, including a balcony overlooking the ria. We popped down to San Jacinto for a drink and then returned to the Pousada for an excellent dinner in the very pleasant dining room - again overlooking the ria. Breakfast was served in the same room and we could watch the comings and goings associated with the sea.
As we were checking out, I found that the first 30 mins of wi-fi is free, so we caught up on e mails before heading off to San Jacinto to catch the (roughly hourly) ferry (€10 for car + 2) across the ria to continue south towards Lisbon.
Nice place to stay, not much to do, but very quiet and relaxing.
martyngs

Room Tip: Two rooms immediately at the top of the stairs up from reception would, I think, be quite noisy. Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank martyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 136 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Do you want to experience sand dunes, oxen bringing in fishing boats, colorful boats fishing and collecting seaweed . gorgeous sunrises or sunsets , ocean vistas, or waves lapping up to your doorstep ? THen, Pousada da TOrreira Murtosa on the Ria is just the answer ! This was our final pousada on a 10 day self driving journey and what a treat for our senses ! The drive off the highway was peaceful and beautiful with water views all along the peninsula. Little towns with vibrant decorations were all in full dress getting ready for an annual festa. We drove from the north and veared off toward Ovar. Along the road in the distance stands the pousada. It is small and compact and not the prettiest building but certainly the charm and setting make all the difference in the world. Not to mention the wonderful, kind and helpful staff ! We had a beautiful balcony overlooking the RIA and spent endless hours watching the sunset, hearing and seeing the fish literally jumping up out of the water , watching the fisherman and taking in the salty breeze. While visiting, take a ride to the local beaches on the other side of the road for breathtaking landscapes and views of the Atlantic. Morning walks on the dunes are relaxing and gorgeous. The Pousada room was comfortable, a good size for two and well furnished. Space was ample and the bed provided a good nights rest. Additionally, The dining room is tastefully decorated in a nautical theme to set the mood, staff were very accommodating and breakfast was varied and tasty. THere is also a large bar area, sitting areas, pool area with shade and privacy as well as a tiny private beach. We took the ferry from Sao Jacinto to Aveiro which is a worthwhile day trip or a pleasant way to head back to the mainland for further travel. Aveiro ,known as the Venice of Portugal is picturesque with beautiful canals and architecture in the town. Canal boat rides are inexpensive and informative about the area. I would highly recommend a stop at this pousada in such a beautiful part of Portugal. It is an area with much to offer the visitor and the local people are only to willing to help make your stay enjoyable. It was one of my favorite places on my journey because it was so laid back , coastal and just very pretty.I look forward to returning and exploring the little towns and beaches in more detail.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the RIA . Each has a private balcony with chairs and a table to enjoy the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Daphnenero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

I stayed at Pousada da Ria for 2 nights during a weekend in October and I must say it was a very pleasant stay.
We booked a double superior room which was absolutely delightful! Big room, huge bed and the cutest decoration. Modern but still in touch with the "navy" theme.
The best thing about our room was the private balcony. It sits right above the Ria waters and you just fill like taking a dive! And there is a nice table and chairs where we had a lovely breakfast overlooking Aveiro on the other side of the river.
The only downside to the room was the bathroom. It's nice to keep the antique flavour but getting rid of those tiles sounds like a good idea.
Overall it's well worth the upgrade from the standard rooms (which I believe don't have the Ria view nor the balcony).

The Pousasda is located almost within a natural reserve so the scenery around it is just amazing. Great for nature/beach/brid-watching lovers. It's a good place to get away from it all but you have to keep that in mind before going since it sits pretty much in the middle of nowhere! You have to use the car for everything!

Access is not easy. It's kind of an island (look up Torreira on Google Maps) and the easies way to get there is through the ferry boat leaving from Aveiro.
The alternative is the highway but it forces you to an approximately 20km detour. Ferry boats stop during the night so you better call the hotel and ask them what is the best way to get there.
We were travelling pretty late and if it wasn't for the help of the night staff over the phone we would have never found the place!!

We didn't tried the restaurant but the breakfast is excellent. Top quality products and very nice view from the every table.
The people in the staff are generally very nice. Particularly the gentleman at the reception.

Overall, it was an excellent stay! Recommended for those who just want to getway to a quiet place for good and comfortable rest! (if you'r looking for movement and excitement, this is not the place!)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a86c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

if you look for nature contact and a relaxed stay, it's the perfect location. rooms are decorated with sealife motives, and if you have the "ria" view you can expect a great landscape. although, if you have a tomtom gps, don't trust it - it will take you to the other side of the "ria", a compleetely different location. you better call the reception directely.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristina_TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We love travelling using the Pousadas and have used quite a number now. We were quite looking forward to this particular one because of it's location. That it the only thing going for it. It is terribly dated in decor thought the rooms are clean. The bar service is non existent, you have to chase a receptionist who is usually to busy chatting to her friend and all she does is glare at you and phone for one of the two waitresses who are serving dinner and haven't got a clue about bar service. A 45 minute wait and three requests for a Bloody Mary with no vodka and a G&T with no gin??!!?? This happened every evening of the 3 nights we stayed. The food is appalling and processed. Frozen and tinned vegetables, hash browns with lamb cutlets, raw chicken and the same deserts just put on a table night after night until they are gone or so stale they are unpalatable. From here we went on the the fantastic Belmonte with it's 5* service and food to die for. Both stays were for the same number of nights, same people, same food arrangements and the Torreira Pousada was over 200 euro more expensive. If you like good hotels DO NOT BOOK THIS ONE!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amoret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

For some time we were looking to stay at one of the Pousadas spread around Portugal. Although pricey everyone said wonders about them. Well... we finally decide to spend a weekend at Pousada da Ria. We checked the official website, and using a voucher we booked 2 nights: 1st night on regular rom and 2nd on a superiror room. The view is amazing and the place is absolutely quiet. It has a nice pool area, the breakfast is quite good and there's an amazing 5-10 min car drive beach absolutely fantastic. But then there the very bad things: they nnounce a tenis court and what we get is an area where among holes, roots, leafs and a lot of dirt we find what was a court tennis where it seems there was a war game; the rooms have no sound protection and they the one we stayed for the first night looked at most a 2 star hotel room. The employes though most of them were friendly were amazingly slow and the receptioonist was , at most, a cold person. For the price they charge there are a lot of better options. Next month we will check another Pousada. Maybe we get better luck :)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bracarense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

My wife and I found this to be one of the most enjoyable hotels we stayed at in Portugal. The staff was excellent and had good recommendations for eateries in Aveiro (the nearby large town). They were extremely helpful overall. The room was much more than we expected and in great condition. I'm not sure if all the rooms are as large as the on we had (Apt. 20). It had a master bedroom and a side bedroom with two beds. Very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. The best perk was pool side bar service in the afternoon. The breakfast was very good as was the dinner we had there on the second night.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Yoshi_Robot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torreira
6.2 mi away
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Hotel Moliceiro
Hotel Moliceiro
#1 of 16 in Aveiro
483 reviews
10.9 mi away
Furadouro Boutique Hotel Beach & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Montebelo Vista Alegre Ilhavo Hotel
7.7 mi away
Tulip Inn Estarreja Hotel & Spa
7.9 mi away
Costa Nova Hotel
Costa Nova Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ilhavo
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Ria, Aveiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Ria, Aveiro

Address: Bico do Muranzel, Torreira 3870-301, Portugal (Formerly Pousada da Torreira Murtosa, Ria de Aveiro)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Torreira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Torreira
Price Range: $88 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Ria, Aveiro 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada da Ria is located in Torreira, near the city of Aveiro on a peninsula that acts as a barrier between the Atlantic Ocean and the Aveiro Lagoon. It is a 15-minute drive from the town of São Jacinto and 43 km from the city of Aveiro. This building from the 60s is built on pillars above the water, and affords an up-close and special connection with nature. During your stay, you can swim in the fantastic outdoor swimming pool or relax in the privacy of a small private beach. For your meals, the hotel offers a restaurant and a bar. The rooms are modern and decorated in warm, bright tones, and have a balcony with views of the gardens or the lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Ria, Aveiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing