We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big hotel on the edge of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Atlantida Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantida Sol
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Figueira da Foz
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Big hotel on the edge of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

A rather tired hotel but OK for a stopover. Staff spoke good English and were very helpful.
Ate out at a lovely fish restaurant just along the front from the hotel. Breakfast was adequate in the huge dining room. Best place to be was the bar on the sixth floor with nice views over the Atlantic and friendly bar staff.

Room Tip: Get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    47
    71
    12
    9
See reviews for
48
66
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trofa, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is well located but in need of renovation and upgrades! Lots of parking. The room was cold, even though it had air con. All very clean. The indoor pool and jacuzzi had very cold water. The breakfast was very poor. The staff were quite helpful.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Figueira da Foz hotels

channel isles
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

this Hotel, did everything on the tin, but extremley tired needs renovation, badly, room and balcony where a great size, and hotel and area was quite, so in that respect all good, plenty of parking, breakfast was very poor same everyday, rolls, cheap ham cheap cheese ! cardboard type cerals and longlife milk!! swimming pool s were very run down, paint peeling off outside walls, a real shame as great location !

Room Tip: ask for one at the front looking to sea as back rooms look over car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lebena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston ,MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

Very friendly staff, from front desk to the bartenders up stairs at the cafe. Room was basic, however, you don't come here to just sit in your room so it was fine. Quick 5 minute drive to great beaches, shopping, dining etc... Pool was great, even though the beach was a 2 minute walk from hotel. Staff complimented me on my Portuguese 'skills', even though I am from the USA and was taught Portuguese from my parents and through Portuguese school. They even guessed correctly where my accent hailed from (North-central Portugal)! I would recommend this location to anyone on a budget. As for the comments regarding a "sewage smell", I didn't encounter such a thing at all in the entire hotel (perhaps I was lucky? I don't know). Parking can be a bit tricky at night, but being innovative is the key.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brunojets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestermere
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

Was there for 3 weeks in October. Yes, it takes some getting used to, but considering it was a 3rd world country not too long ago, take that into account. Yes, the bathrooms were sometimes overwhelmingly smelly of sewage, but we found a cure. Completely soak and wring out a towel and put it over the sewage trap between the budet and toilet and it completely eliminates it. Yes the hotel is dated, but definately comfortable. The staff (most of them) were sooooo helpful and tried so hard to help us despite the language barrier. The location is great. A bit away from downtown, but certainly nice and quiet. The views are spectacular. If you need laundry done and they tell you no, ask someone else! Seems to be some miscommunication between the staff. The beer in the bar upstairs is very cheap, but not the hard liquor, so be aware. The pool was very clean, but the water is VERY cold! A waker-upper for sure. I would recommend this hotel, but don't expect to be in the Hilton, cause you ain't gonna get it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights in July. Our room was ok - a bit dated but clean however on the second day there was a very strong smell of sewerage from our bathroom. However our friend's were not as 'lucky' with their room. The door into their room was hanging on one hinge and the toilet bowl was badly creacked and leaked each time it was used. We made reception aware of these problems and they promised to have them fixed but unfortunately it never happened.
Breakfast was the same boring selection both mornings - a choice of water or orange juice which was some sort of coloured water, cereal was chocolate or plain coloured flakes and if you were lucky enough to get hot water (which wasn't always the case) you could have 'tea' - certainly not what we would call breakfast!!
The pool area needed to be updated and new sun brollies were badly needed.
Overall this hotel is badly in need of a complete renovation

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FourCrazyIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2006

Good sized clean rooms with nice en-suite food okay staff very helpful location is a bit far out of town but only 5 euros in a taxi. Lovely place with loads of great resturants.

Helpful?
7 Thank ollyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Figueira da Foz hotels
2.0 mi away
Eurostars Oasis Plaza Hotel
Eurostars Oasis Plaza Hotel
#1 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Wellington
Hotel Wellington
#3 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Figueira da Foz
Mercure Figueira da Foz
#4 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sweet Atlantic Hotel and Spa
Sweet Atlantic Hotel and Spa
#2 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sweet Residence & Gardens
Sweet Residence & Gardens
#6 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Costa de Prata
Hotel Costa de Prata
#10 of 17 in Figueira da Foz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantida Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantida Sol

Property: Atlantida Sol
Address: Av. D. Joao II-Buarcos | Marginal Oceanica-Buarcos, Figueira da Foz 3080-378, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Figueira da Foz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Figueira da Foz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantida Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantida Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing