We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely! Very cosy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Covilha
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely! Very cosy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Great place in the Serra da Estrela! Very cosy!! Small but charming! Great view!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CKH0026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    111
    79
    18
    4
See reviews for
93
132
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

Too expensive for the quality offered - reality quite different from the internet site photos.
Small rooms, regular food breakfast with bad service, no help with the lugage, even when arriving at night with 2 small children and paying for each of the 2 rooms more than it would have been at a 5 stars hotel in Oporto.
Better to stay at a hotel further away from the mountain and then travel there. Only the view deserves to be positively apointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AAlves007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Covilha hotels

ccmct
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

I've been there with my husband and two small kids, 2 and 4 years old just for one night, so there's not much I can say. It's a lovely Hotel, great location, nice views, a bit expensive in relation quality/price.
The one thing I didn´t like was, since this is a Hotel with lots of families with children, it should be more child friendly particularly concerning the meals. The dinner was buffet with only 3 choices, none of them very suitable for young children. Breakfast was very good. The service and cleanliness spotless!.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccmct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

we booked on line with callcenter.pt; they are the official site of this and two other hotels. I travel frequently and book many places and at times need to cancel. I always read the cancellation policy carefully and keep ALL corresponsdence. We cancelled two months prior to the deadline.
THis company charged us a deposits within minutes of the booking, ostensibly 100% refundable and we cancelled one month ago and nothing. We are now having to file with our credit card company.
I have emailed seven times and faxed a request. NO response. Earlier I had emailed about the size of the Mt. versus Valle view room; NO Response. I have had not such problems with my 8 other reservations for my upcoming Portugal trip.
Alicia Goldstein

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aligold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

So we´re looking for a place to stay, far from the crowdly Algarve, or other beach destinations, where its full of turists. After searching for a while in the internet we found out inviting promotions and programms to this hotel. At the summer time, is the opposite of hight season so, probably you would find nice prices for hight quality services. The hotel decorations and style is quite outstanding, it is a real four stars hotel, quite close to the five stars hotels. The food is great wich is not a surprise for who knows portuguese gastronomy. The pool is not really big, but I think its enought for the number of rooms. It is also cold (the water pool) , because of the highs. The staff its quite professional.
During the summer time you'll find medieval music festivals in many places around like Belmonte, wich is a small and old village (year 1190), known as the last refuge for portuguese jews. There you can visit the Jew Museum and Sinagoga. You can find many places of interest like Torre (Serra da Estrela), Museu do pão (Seia), just to say a few.
Really nice, we 'll love to return, this time at the winter season so wu could ski.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TES1978_LX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2008

Simply suberb. Clean, very modern, beautiful view, good parking, very calm... The only thing I can't talk about is the food because we didn't eat at the hotel. I recomomend this hotel to everyone!

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — The pool is not heated.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Zirtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal, Vila Nova da Barquinha
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

Me and my boyfriend went to Serra da Estrela and stayed in this lovley place. Very modern, clean, confortable, with a excellent breakfast. I recomend it.

  • Liked — The confortable bed
  • Disliked — Should have a mini bar, and a bottle of water in the room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank excali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covilha
0.3 mi away
Pousada da Serra da Estrela
5.3 mi away
H2otel
H2otel
#1 of 1 in Unhais da Serra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
9.5 mi away
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
#1 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
TRYP Covilha Dona Maria Hotel
10.0 mi away
Abrigo da Montanha Hotel Rural & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Eufemia
Hotel Santa Eufemia
#3 of 10 in Covilha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais

Property: Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais
Address: Estrada Nacional 339 | Penhas da Saúde, Covilha 6200-324, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Castelo Branco District > Covilha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Covilha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 1100 meters above sea level, the Hotel dos Carqueijais is a boutique hotel in the Serra da Estrela that enjoys superb views over the Cova da Beira valley. Built on a high plain, on the mountain slope, the hotel has a unique architectural style, and is located just 5km from Covilha and 15km from the Serra da Estrela Ski Resort. The degree of excellence and comfort are just two of the hotel’s many qualities; and summertime guests will have a memorable experience when they can take advantage of its beautiful outdoor pool with a magnificent view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing