We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensao Residencial Domus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pensao Residencial Domus
Ranked #11 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Coimbra
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

Since we were in Coimbra for less than 24 hours, we didn’t want to spend a lot of money for a room. At first look, I was concerned about the hotel and the area, but it ended up being fine. Although Residencial Domus is an old hotel, it was very clean, and the staff was very nice. Some speak excellent English, and some don’t speak any but do their best to help. The plumbing lines in the bathroom were surface-mounted. The water pressure was good. Breakfast was only bread, cheese, and coffee. Due to the minimal price of the room, all of this was reasonable. While the décor was old, there were several beautiful cross-stitch pictures in the lobby that I believe were made by the owner. We were in Coimbra on a Sunday that happened to be election day, and it was basically a ghost town. I’m sorry we didn’t have time to stay longer, because it is an interesting city, and the few people we met were extremely nice. Don’t miss a chance to listen to music at A Capella Fado Bar. Fado in Coimbra is different than in Lisbon and a Capella has THE best.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    17
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
33
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

stayed one night - and paid 38 euro for a double with breakfast. The room we had was the most perfect example of a 70's room I've ever been in - it was like a museum! Spotlessly clean, and comfortable. Wi-fi worked in room. Note that it is right across from the train station - very good location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scallions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
203 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2009

This was a 10 minute walk from the bus station and perfectly located to walk to all the sights. The hotel was on a pedestrian street and furnished with antique furniture. The floors were real marquetry. We paid 35 euro/night including a small breakfast of rolls, soft cheese, juice and yogurt. The place was spotless. When we arrived, a women was cleaning the stairs to the reception area (1st floor- no elevator) with bleach. The shower was small but had good water pressure. The only drawback was the noise in the street at night. I travel with earplugs, but some might have a problem with it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boomertraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2006

This is a very good value place - ideal for budget travellers. Although it is cheap it is very clean and safe. All rooms seem to have air-conditioning. It is a couple of minutes walk from the train station. It seems to be family run. I give this place an 'excellent' rating as it is just such good value.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shane_from_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2006

Very clean rooms, centrally located - real close to the train station! The rooms are air conditioned and have private baths. Their was minimal street noise, because the hotel is on a pedestrain walk way. Basic Porgual breakfast

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGN86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#2 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#13 of 21 in Coimbra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#8 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moderna
Moderna
#11 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Residencial Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Residencial Domus

Property: Pensao Residencial Domus
Address: Rua Adelino Veiga 62, Coimbra 3000-002, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pensao Residencial Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Pensao Residencial Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing