We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly, no frills pension” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensao Residencial Domus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pensao Residencial Domus
Ranked #11 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Coimbra
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, no frills pension”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

For budget travelers, this pension is perfect. It was very clean, quiet (courtyard room) and there was air conditioning. It was very hot so the air conditioning saved us. There was a light breakfast, bread, ham, cheese, and coffee. The location was near all the sights. We had a car so it was a bit difficult to find the place. Once we did, we parked in front of the hotel to unload and the reception told us where to park. Have your parking ticket stamped by the hotel before you pick up your car so you can get a reduced rate.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Navajo_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    17
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
33
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a double room with two beds. The room was spacious for two adults and had a newly remodeled bathroom. Breakfast was provided (coffee, juice, yogurt and bread). Location was great with easy walking to all of Coimbra's main sites.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teachandtravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We read a lot of reviews for accommodation in Coimbra and found that the better places were incredibly expensive while more affordably priced places generally had negative reviews. Residencial Domus was one of the few exceptions - while it's a more budget-conscious place with no frills, we were generally happy with our experience. The location is fantastic - a one minute walk from the train station, a few minutes away from the main sights in the city and close to restaurants and shops. The rooms were basic but clean and decently comfortable. The service was good - the staff was helpful and courteous. Breakfast was decent although not particularly diverse, although one wouldn't expect a wide range of options for breakfast at a budget-type place like this.

We only stayed one night, and Residencial Domus was good for a short stay. If we were staying in Coimbra for a few days, we might have wanted something a bit more upscale, but for a night or 2, I'd definitely recommend Residencial Domus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyetotelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Small family run establishment, convenient for Coimbra A Station, buses, taxis and historic centre. It is clean, well kept. Bathrooms appear newly refurbished. Bedrooms are simply furnished and have pleasant wood block floors, so much nicer than carpet. The free wi fi works. The staff are really charming. I has a large room containing two small double beds for single occupation at less than £30.00 a night.

No lift. No cheques.

Room Tip: 23 was fine - overlooked street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrogin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is so easy to find,very clean and with very pleasant family staff. Nice simple breakfast. Location is great as all sorts of interesting lane ways surround the hotel and it is minutes to main areas of the old town. We had a twin bed room which was spacious. Good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webwoylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were feeling nostalgic after leaving Aveiro to reach Coimbra back in August, and wanted to relax and walk through the old cobbled streets of the university town that is higher Coimbra. Arrived at the guesthouse Residencial Domus which was clean, welcoming, smelt good and the room we got given was HUGE. Two comfortable and clean beds, everything was in the detail. And for the price, even though the EU was in crisis at that time (more so than now) was well within what we wanted to pay. I recommend Residencial Domus to anyone who wants a low to medium budget price stay in a more accurately higher budget hotel. Residencial Domus overtakes itself, check it out without chequeing out. Ahem...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meisel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

The people in charge very kind and helpful if you want to have turistic advise. Very near to train station and to the Bus, minimarkets are also near. The breakfast was great (juice, yogurt, milk, coffee, etc). Rooms are kind of old but they are cleaned and proper the bathroom was ok also.. This hotel is very recommendable if you want to save some money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LyG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#2 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#13 of 21 in Coimbra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#8 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moderna
Moderna
#11 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Residencial Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Residencial Domus

Property: Pensao Residencial Domus
Address: Rua Adelino Veiga 62, Coimbra 3000-002, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pensao Residencial Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pensao Residencial Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing