We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pensao Residencial Domus
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Coimbra(Coimbra)(Great Value!)
$75
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$225
$218
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$144
$134
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vitoria(Coimbra)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel D. Luis(Coimbra)
$66
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Tryp Coimbra Hotel(Coimbra)
$68
$65
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$66
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
19
39
21
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
39
21
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotela couple of minutes walkyogurtno elevatortrain stationexcellent locationmain roadbleachcafesfurniturebathroomuniversityluggagehill
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 83 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2012

First a cautionary note: If can't climb steps, do not stay here. I think it was about 30 steps from the street to our hotel room. However, excluding that, it is a very modest place in the city centre. The lower city was easy to reach by walking. It is not in the most exotic area. The streets around the residence were dotted with vacant store fronts, evidence of the current economic situation in Portugal. The staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly with choreography of parking our car during our 2 days in Coimbra. The rooms are small and largely occupied by the bed. Moving around in the room was a tad difficult. The room key, a skeleton key, provided no sense of security. However, access to the hotel is limited providing a counterweight to the poorly locked door. The room was clean and the lavatory adequate. Coimbra itself is a city that could really benefit from developing its riverfront.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triangletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Nothing fancy about this place but it is a great budget choice for a visti to Coimbra. No more than 100 meters from the Coimbra A train station on a quiet pedestrian street that is close to all of the shops and restaurants of the old town. Friendly English speaking staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

It`s located in the city centre and is quite good for those who`d not like pay a lot for a signle/double and have a little service — rooms even in a high season go by reasonal price. Rooms are not very big and bed(s) fill the most part of space in the room.

It`s easy to find it and if you haven`t booked hotel before if there`s no free rooms, on this street there`re some other pensaos with the same rate and service level.

It`s typical B&B for Portugal, I think.

Staff speak english enough to have a phone conversation as I need to talk about my left luggage, so there`s no problem with communication when you talk to each other in real life.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boris_texnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I will say it simply without embellishment: If you go to beautiful Coimbra, try your best to reserve a room in Residencial Domus, it is excellent. They treat you as a person entering their house, not as a client spending money. Value for money, amazing. Comfort, cleanliness, location, friendliness and utilities are all spot on.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mithikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Since we were in Coimbra for less than 24 hours, we didn’t want to spend a lot of money for a room. At first look, I was concerned about the hotel and the area, but it ended up being fine. Although Residencial Domus is an old hotel, it was very clean, and the staff was very nice. Some speak excellent English, and some don’t speak any but do their best to help. The plumbing lines in the bathroom were surface-mounted. The water pressure was good. Breakfast was only bread, cheese, and coffee. Due to the minimal price of the room, all of this was reasonable. While the décor was old, there were several beautiful cross-stitch pictures in the lobby that I believe were made by the owner. We were in Coimbra on a Sunday that happened to be election day, and it was basically a ghost town. I’m sorry we didn’t have time to stay longer, because it is an interesting city, and the few people we met were extremely nice. Don’t miss a chance to listen to music at A Capella Fado Bar. Fado in Coimbra is different than in Lisbon and a Capella has THE best.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews