We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern hotel - free parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dona Ines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dona Ines
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
Marcoussis
Level Contributor
147 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Modern hotel - free parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very practical when you are with a car (underground parking is free). 10 minutes walk from the old part of Coimbra.
We slept rather well, bed mattress was OK
Free wifi did not work properly; they gave me a code with a 1h free access.
Breakfast was Ok - no more

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelLeclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    336
    99
    11
    4
See reviews for
178
240
20
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We are a French couple from Montreal Canada, we did a trip of one month in Portugal this last October 2013 and we stayed in 17 hotels. We stayed at this hotel 1 night October 18th 2013. Price: 65 Euros with breakfast. Pros: big room, counter in the bathroom to put your stuff, nice shower, hair dryer, lots of towels, indoor parking for free, good location, comfortable bed, good breakfast. Cons: no Internet Wi-Fi in the room you have to go in the lobby and as the signal was weak and many people were using it at the same time, the reception was poor and slow. We gave up after a while, TV channels in Portuguese and one French (TV5). We recommend that hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Dona Ines. The hotel was very easy to find coming from the main highway as you simply have to turn right downhill once you cross the river at the end of the bridge. The hotel provides complimentary parking in the own garage.

We were pleasantly surprised by the modern lobby and hallways. The room, while not as modern as the common areas, was very nice with a nice view over the river. There was more than enough room both in the room and in the bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was very good as well with a nice selection of pastries, corn flakes, yogurth, etc.

The only minor negative was the location. It takes about 10-15 minutes on foot along a road with a lot of traffic to reach the historic center. This wasn't an issue to us, but may be for someone who doesn't like (or can't) walking. The neighborhood you walk through doesn't look particularly inviting, but we never felt unsafe, even when walking back late at night.

Given the price and the quality offered, we would suggest Dona Ines to everybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GioVale20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

In July, we stayed one night in Coimbra on our way to the Duoro. The hotel is nice, a very good value as it offers indoor parking as well. But finding the hotel was a challenge even with a basic Portuguese vocabulary. We must have driven around the block 5-6 times before we found it. The hotel needs to ask the city to allow them to put up road signs to direct the travelers to their property as other hotels do.

The reception staff were pleasant and helpful, the breakfast was very good, the hotel was clean and modern, aprox 15 minute solid walk to the historic center. Not many restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel but many very good ones in the historic center.

Would I return ? if I had to stay in Coimbra again maybe - but I would not like to be looking for the hotel late at night without a GPS.

Room Tip: Most rooms are good and the location is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

One pays extra for internet but it does not work! Bathroom needs up dating. Breakfast dreadful. Staff friendly, but not efficient (during breakfast). I would stay there, but I'm aware of the limitations.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sergionevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is located a bit off the centre in a slightly scrubby neighbourhood, but within easy walking distance from the city centre and the main attractions. Perfect if you arrive by car (free underground parking!). The hotel is very modern and functional, nice large rooms with air conditioning, large bathrooms and good furniture. There is a large outdoor pool to relax, restaurant, bar and spacious lounge. It is a three star hotel, but I think it would pass as a 4 star anywhere. We paid 55 Euros per night which we thought was a total bargain. The personnel was very kind and helpful. Optimal place to stay when visiting Coimbra.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the back have a nice view over the river (and the pool).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maphysto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cascais
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

this is the second time we have stayed at Dona Ines Hotel in Coimbra Portugal. super staff very helpfull and friendly. Excellent service and outstanding food in restaurant-was so impressed took me back to years ago when restaurants were very classy and old fashined with a dessert trolley and trolley for port and liquers after the meal.
swimming deck fantastic, super functional rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angels90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.0 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#2 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#6 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
0.8 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#8 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Ines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Ines

Property: Hotel Dona Ines
Address: Rua Abel Dias Urbano 12, Coimbra 3000-001, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Ines 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the commercial area and the historical centre of the city of Coimbra, Hotel Dona Ines was completely renovated in 2011, offering a range of services that fulfil the needs of both its business and leisure clients. Apart from its 122 rooms, including 4 superior rooms and 2 suites, Hotel Dona Ines has also several meeting rooms with capacity up to 500 persons, an outdoor pool, a spa, a garage, a restaurant and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dona Ines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing