We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel”
Review of Hotel Dona Ines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dona Ines
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Clean hotel close to the long distance bus station. The reception was helpful, gave us lots of tips about the city. The room was a bit outdated, but it's fine. We had a good view of the river, which somehow turned into red the next day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingMue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    368
    103
    11
    4
See reviews for
191
253
22
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had been in Coimbra with my family for an Erasmus visit to University of Coimbra.

Coimbra is a very interesting city to visit and Dona Ines Hotel is the best point to stay there. It is a very clean and well equipped hotel at the heart of Coimbra. Its personel is very helpful.

Even with our four years old son, we found lots things to do in this beautiful city in our free time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ipekbulut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the hotel during our Portugal holidays. The hotel itself isn´t in the heart of Coimbra, so we walked back and forth, however as it wasn´t more than 10-15 mins it wasn´t bothering us. Apart from that, I have to concur with other reviewers that we never felt in danger.

The double bed room was clean, bed was comfy and according to the standards. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. As we had a car we used the hotel´s parking at no additional cost. Also, the hotel was easily accessible from the motorway.

Breakfast is not impressive, warm buffet basically non-existent, but for 2 days we could survive it. What we were missing tho is some vegetables like tomatoes or peppers.

A great plus was the pool. As it was quite hot on those two days, this refreshment was very welcome. Towels are handed out at the reception at no additional cost as well.

In summary, for the rate we paid, it was a very good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomazzo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

A great stay - the family room was actually 2 adjoining rooms, a double and a twin so perfect! The pool was lovely and much appreciated. The service was impeccable and friendly and was close enough to walk into Coimbra centre. We returned after dinner every night so about 10ish - the area round the hotel wasn't startling but it certainly didn't feel dangerous to us. Towels for the pool are available from reception at no extra or hire cost unlike other similar hotels in Portugal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkgirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malveira, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We organised an international event in Coimbra in early April 2012. We arranged for 10+ members of the faculty to stay at this Hotel. I was managing the daily liaison with the hotel.

While the rooms and meals were of good quality, two security incidents marred our opinion of the hotel.

The first was when on returning to his room on a Sunday afternoon, a faculty member saw the door of the room a fellow faculty member who was still at the event open. No one could explain why this had been noted.

A day later, a quantity of cash was stolen from another faculty members room.

It is true that the hotel does provide safes and that one should use them. However, two security incidents over 48 hours is unacceptable, particularly when we an NGO, were bringing substantial business to the Hotel over a period of a week.

I would agree with the comments of other clients about location. At night, one really does need to take a taxi to and from town,as this part of Coimbra is not exactly salubrious.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barlaventoexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Dona Ines for one week during Eurogym 2012. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff made my stay very memorable. Especially Rosalia on reception.....so friendly, professional and helpful. She is a mine of information when it comes to shopping advice and tips, as well as all the necessary tourist information. Shops within a few mins walk and town about 10 mins walk. Open top bus trip is a must.
Fernando the barman is a font of knowledge on all local wines and spirits....always patient and most helpful. The bedroom was spacious,comfortable and spotless. The pool was great, though there was a shortage of loungers. Breakfast room overlooking the pool was bright and spacious. Staff always friendly and eager to please. Had dinner in hotel restaurant one night and it was excellent.
Overall, an excellent experience.....thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband, 6 year old daughter and I stayed 1 night in this hotel in July, 2012. We arrived at 2:40, but our room which was supposed to be a triple bed room wasn't ready yet, even though check-in time is at 2:00. We waited for a few minutes until a double room became available, so we agreed to take that room instead. The hotel location is ~ 15 minute walk from center town, the breakfast was okay but nothing special, the room/bed was clean. We did not use the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunaottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.0 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 23 in Coimbra
1,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
1,056 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,283 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
1.2 mi away
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
#8 of 23 in Coimbra
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Ines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Ines

Property: Hotel Dona Ines
Address: Rua Abel Dias Urbano 12, Coimbra 3000-001, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dona Ines 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the commercial area and the historical centre of the city of Coimbra, Hotel Dona Ines was completely renovated in 2011, offering a range of services that fulfil the needs of both its business and leisure clients. Apart from its 122 rooms, including 4 superior rooms and 2 suites, Hotel Dona Ines has also several meeting rooms with capacity up to 500 persons, an outdoor pool, a spa, a garage, a restaurant and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dona Ines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing