We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
University of Coimbra - more complete and private visit, ticket included
25

Book in advance
from
$74.56
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Google
Ways to Experience University of Coimbra
from $74.56
More Info
from $44.73
More Info
from $36.21
More Info
from $101.19
More Info
Reviews (3,523)
Filter reviews
3,523 results
Traveler rating
2,177
1,046
238
38
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,177
1,046
238
38
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest universities in europe royal palace beautiful campus science museum joanina library guided tour ticket office buy tickets chapel students university hill tower portugal gowns faculties law
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 3,523 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2019

We rented a car that we drove from Porto to the Douro Valley, then to Sintra and then finally to Lisbon.
Coimbra was a good midway point between Pinhão and Sintra (2 hour point in a 4 hour drive).
The campus of the Univeristy of Coimbra is beautiful. The buildings, the garden and the excitement of the new students. We were there during Praxe which may be a little much but it it was still fun to see.
The cloaks of the upper levels students inspired J.K. Rowling in here imaginings of the vestments at Hogwarts.
I wouldn't recommend buying the tour tickets. The wait is long. A bit pricey for what you get and you are not allowed to take photos in the library.
Beautiful campus though.

Date of experience: September 2019
8  Thank 8-drank-was-merry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 12, 2019

I bought a ticket to tour the library (which I wasn't impressed with) but touring parts of the campus comes along with it. The campus is amazing!! I loved that part.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank KYtraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 11, 2019 via mobile

I was disappointed that we had to wait in a long line to get into the historical section of the university. Almost everyone wanted to see the library, and once we were finally in, there were no photos on the third floor. That was hugely disappointing.

The chapel and palace are definitely worth seeing and are part of the ticket for admission.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank BethR325
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 11, 2019

Well, for my comments towards my visit in the University of Coimbra, I must separate it into two parts:
Firstly, it is really a nice university town, one of the oldest in Europe with a fabulous history and a lot of honors. The buildings and the atmosphere in the university is nice and comfortable. And the students here are full of energy and are very helpful for tourists who are new here to find the way and everything.
BUT, on the other side, what the administration of the university are doing towards the visitors are really tricky and disgusting. There are several ticket offices inside the university for visitors, the most expensive price is 12.5 Euro which can include the most famous baroque library Bibleoteca Joanina. However, what we are paying do not worth at all! The places which we have to pay for, is not the University, but some exhibitions owned by the University that are specially built for tourists. The main building, the normal library, the canteens, all faculties, do not require tickets at all. The 12.5 Euro ticket is just for cheating the first time visitors.

Date of experience: October 2019
3  Thank lefttalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 10, 2019 via mobile

The campus is huge with very interesting buildings, furniture and ceilings to explore as a tourist. Highly recommend visiting and seeing as much as you can.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank 551lizaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews