We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
NS Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Tryp Coimbra Hotel(Coimbra)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Ibis Coimbra(Coimbra)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Moderna(Coimbra)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Astoria(Coimbra)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Breakfast included
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    Reviews (132)
    Filter reviews
    132 results
    Traveler rating
    39
    40
    27
    19
    7
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    39
    40
    27
    19
    7
    See what travelers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    24 - 29 of 132 reviews
    Reviewed September 16, 2013

    Fiz uma reserva de um quarto com WC privativo para o fim de semana passado. Fui obrigado a solicitar a devolução do dinheiro devido à clara falta de higiene das acomodações que me estavam destinadas. Tudo estava por limpar, nomeadamente a casa de banho e o chuveiro onde encontrei um tufo de cabelos preso no ralo do poliban. Qualidade zero!!!
    I made a reservation for a room with private bathroom for the past weekend. I was forced to ask for a refund because of the clear lack of hygiene on the accommodations. Everything was uncleaned, including the bathroom and the shower where I found a clump of hair stuck in the shower drain. Zero quality!!

    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank jpmikos
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 3, 2013

    The hostel is great looking, and the staff is very nice. Quite affordable, too.
    However... I had ants in my room, and the noise was uncanny. I even found staff people loudly sweeping the floor at 3AM. The place is a restored old house, so it has no sound isolation. If you're looking for a good looking place, go for it; otherwise, if you are looking for a quiet place, this is not it.

    Room Tip: My couples room was need the frontoffice desk, which means lots of noise.
    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank gnclmorais
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 29, 2013

    There were 4 of us and we stayed in a 6 bed dorm. The room was about average size, everything was very clean and seemed quite new (and very white haha). The only thing I can fault is what another reviewer said - that the showers and nearly all the bathrooms were on the bottom floor - there wasn't much privacy and there was always water on the floor from the showers. This wasn't a big deal for me though. Breakfast was pretty good, and there was a decent kitchen and a terrace where we ate. The staff were friendly enough if you needed anything and they kept our bags for us after we had checked out. The location was ok but it depends what you're in Coimbra for - it's close to the uni and gardens but a trek uphill from the train station and town centre.

    Summary: I would stay here again.

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ElmoAbroad
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 28, 2013

    My wife and I stayed at the NS for four nights last week. The Hostel is new and everything is painted white. The beds have white linen. In general we had a good stay at the hostel. The staff were knowledgable about the city and gave good suggestions on what to see in this little town.

    My wife and I had a little room on the top floor of the hostel, built into the roof. Now the issue with this room in particular is the bathroom access, it is between the first and second floor, so you need to walk down 2 flights of stairs to use the bathroom. The shower block is on the ground-basement level, a long way down and up for the shower. I don't know about the other rooms or if there are any with ensuites.

    The showers, while new, have some drainage issues and the new white paint is starting to peal off the bottom of some of the showers and two of the toilets in the bottom section had a water leak leaving your feet wet... I guess this is normal in a newly established place and will be fixed quickly.

    The kitchen area is OK, breakfast was good, cereals, fresh bread, ham and cheese, fruits, yogurt and coffee. There is a nice section out the back to sit in the sun and have your breakfast.

    The living space has wifi, computer, TV and guitar you can use. Its a nice place to sit and read, we checked our emails at night. Internet works in the living room only.

    Overall a nice stay.

    Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    Thank AidanandLucia
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
    Google Translation

    Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews