We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value and nice place to stay”
Review of Hotel Vitoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vitoria
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and nice place to stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Located handily for main town, and a fairly easy walk uphill to the old city and university area. Excellent room and good breakfast. People were very helpful, although with limited English. The lady spoke to me in French, not sure why! Breakfast was included, and was quite good.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    212
    58
    6
    5
See reviews for
95
217
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

we stayed here in May, it is very close to train station, the river and other attractions.
it is very ordinary though, small room,good basic breakfast. However it is homely and the staff are responsive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikerire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Without being particularly memorable, the Hotel Vitoria gave us a comfortable stay - our room seemed to be recently furnished, the staff were helpful even with something of a language barrier, and we were in a good spot for walking to restaurants and attractions (a must in Coimbra, where the narrow streets give driving a nightmarish quality.) Breakfast was particularly nice, self-service in the hotel's small restaurant where, while there was certainly enough space for the guests, there was a home-like atmosphere. Don't expect a decadent experience here, but if you want a good night's sleep the Hotel Vitoria definitely delivers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelsBells8601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I booked this hotel at the last moment due to a mix up with other hotel reservations and thus did not make very in depth researches. The hotel is simple and complete new, located in a very good position, close to the railway station and the commercial street. I think it was good value. I found breakfast rather poor, though.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel based on recommendations from tripAdvisor, and we're glad we did! This is a great little hotel located on a small street close to other small hotels. It is very conveniently located just a short distance from the main square, Largo da Portagem. It's within easy walking distance to the river and the university and next to one of the train stations. The staff was friendly; the room was clean and comfortable, and the included breakfast was good. As far as value and comfort, it was the best deal we had during our stay in Portugal

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Level Contributor
334 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed there for one week. It is located near the train station and a Comercial street as well as near the Mondego river and its gardens. Rooms are new, clean and well maintained. Shower OK. The owners are a sympathetic couple. Breakfast OK. Near there is an amazing bakery that I also reviewed. Although some noises can be heard quality of sleep is very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very negative experience, I booked a room online communicating with the hotel managers in emails, they asked when I arrive, got a reply about time (about 10 pm, 22 in the evening) and confirmed the booking. Upon arrival they failed to find the printout of the booking and were not able to find a room for me. It was at least one more room in the hotel, which they kept reserved for another person (who could arrive later and had the booking form printed out fir the receptionist). Hopefully the lady at the reception found me a reasonable accomodation in a hotel nearby at the same price. Three day later I stayed in a better hotel in Lisbon with a lower price, just £32.50/night with edible breakfast and internet at the second floor. But I liked Portugal!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VadimVolkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitoria

Property: Hotel Vitoria
Address: Rua da Sota 9-11, Coimbra 3000-392, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vitoria 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel recently renovated and located in the historical center of Coimbra. Near the train station Coimbra A and only 10 minutes from the University of Coimbra (on foot). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vitoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing