We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff in a Cozy Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A Cozinha da Maria

A Cozinha da Maria
Ranked #9 of 383 Restaurants in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: in the city centre of Coimbra
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
263 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff in a Cozy Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were recommended the G&J restaurant across the street, but after realizing it was out of our price range we found this perfect little place across the street. The menu is only in Portuguese, but our waiter was willing to translate to English for us. The dishes on offer fit on one page, but we had no problems finding something we were interested in. Our food was delicious (I had the grilled bass), and the atmosphere of the restaurant was exactly what we were looking for. We were sad to only have one night in Coimbra for we definitely would have gone back if we'd had more time. I highly recommend this place!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    343
    105
    37
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great find in the old city of Coimbra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

After a week in Portugal we were delighted to find this little gem. Heitor Gomes the chef could not have been more accommodating and for under 40 Euros for the two us we enjoyed a 2 course meal including a couple of glasses of wine. Service was excellent and both chef and waiter spoke excellent English.
Put this one on your list

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cozie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Coimbra gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

After 8 days in Portugal and many good meals, we happened upon this delightful small restaurant in downtown Coimbra. Our meal was by far the best we have had so far. Clearly authentic, menu in Portuguese only (but easy to identify the options), we had 3 courses plus wine for 2 people for less than 40 euros. Service was friendly and professional. Can't recommend more highly - we almost felt like standing at the door and urging potential customers to come in and try it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank penrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Right next to the large (and twice as expensive) G&J there's a small restaurant with great food and pleasant service. Also, portions of a non-discouraging size made it a nice an cozy place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JayNo158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

On a trip to Portugal with my father and friends, We went by this restaurant, and were surprised by the outstanding service that we received.
good vibe, hapiness of the staff and delicious food. xXx

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Cozinha da Maria also viewed

Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 
Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 

Been to A Cozinha da Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing