We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, world-class library”

Biblioteca Joanina - Universidade de Coimbra
Book In Advance
More Info
$340.12*
and up
Fátima and Coimbra experience private tour
Ranked #1 of 85 things to do in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
177 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fabulous, world-class library”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

For all bibliophiles this is a must stop. Tthe books are in beautiful condition and the architecture of the space breathtaking.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nannysuef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,088
    573
    133
    31
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I simply regret that the cord is set so far away from the shelves you cannot approach the books...and everything is so dark, curtains are almost fully closed...there's a piano also...really worth visiting! I checked the other floors; book deposit now another display room, also with thick cord preventing you from getting nearer, and the basement, the student's prison.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank veigapaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous Library”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Have been to Coimbra several time but never to the Library. Last visit to the
University we caught the tour and were we glad we did. The Library is truly a remarkable site. It takes your breath away upon entering and keeps getting better from then on. It is not as large as other libraries go but the place gave me the feel almost that I was in a beautiful Baroque church. If you are in the Coimbra area this is a must-see attraction.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jt093812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What a wonderful library!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This library is an absolute revelation. You must read the leaflet to understand the work being done to preserve this place. Awesome!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Recommend the guided tour”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were lucky enough to have Catherine as our guide who was passionate and informative in showing us throughout the university. The library is truly remarkable and will soon be world heritage listed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gbeall78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biblioteca Joanina - Universidade de Coimbra also viewed

Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 
Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 

Been to Biblioteca Joanina - Universidade de Coimbra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing