We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Pombal
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Moderna(Coimbra)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Vitoria(Coimbra)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Astoria(Coimbra)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
97
83
15
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
83
15
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bshared bathroomtop floorold citysmall bagsguesthouse locatedguest houseold houseprivate bathsteep climbwelcome giftrooms are smallgreat viewspecial experiencetasty breakfastno liftfado concert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 207 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2012

If you are looking for a clean and budget-friendly hotel, you can't make a better choice. Anja went above and beyond the call of duty to help us with whatever we needed. Good location and lekker (yummy) breakfast!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jayhawk913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed one night in May 2012, and can highly recommend. We liked the special attention to small details. A good breakfast is included. Excellent value in this price range.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuzzySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in late April 2012. The on-line reviews made us pick this place and I must say we were not disappointed at all. As previous reviewers noted soon after on-line booking we got an e-mail from the inn-keeper with useful information regarding the location. We rented a car in Coimbra for day-trips to the surrounding areas and without the useful advice of the hotel staff could be quite difficult to find ones way around the city driving.

We had our first glass of port in Portugal at this hotel - our room on the top floor had a wonderful view of the old city in addition to a bottle of port and two glasses for tired travelers like ourselves.This was our first stop on a 10-day trip to Portugal.

The location of the hotel is perfect for visiting the old city: it is a 5 min walk to the old University sites, 3 min walk to the elevator that takes you up and down the hill for those who find the steep streets too challenging (especially when it rains) and - most importantly - the excellent breakfast and advice that the welcoming hotel personnel give the travelers. This is one of those places where you feel part of a family.

Room Tip: we had a room with private bath but the bathroom for common use looked very modern
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_C_Trips_02138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Right after making the booking for this guest house I received an email with a lot of useful information about how to reach the place, where to park etc. We could park for free right around the corner and were warmly welcomed by the Dutch owner upon arrival. After having settled in we received all the information we needed about what to see, where to go for dinner (Flor de Coimbre, great place!!) and to visit a Fado concert in the evening. We could use umbrellas from the guest house because it was raining cats and dogs.
The room waa slightly cramped but did have high ceilings to make it feel spacious. The beds were good and the shared bathroom was nice and modern.
Last but not least: the breakfast buffet is absolutely fantastic with everything you can wish for. Even Dutch peanut butter and chocolate sprinkles was available ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels_Maaike_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed in Casa Pombal for three days in Feb. This is a great place in Coimbra. The welcome you receive from Anja is first class. Although not so easy to find if you follow her directions to a 't' you'll find it. It is an atmospheric 'home' rather than a hotel. Each corner of the house oozes personality - quirky and interesting.

Anja's knowledge of Coimbra is amazing. Her tips on restaurants/ cafes are not to be ignored - gives you a real sense of where the locals of Coimbra go. The hike up from town can be a challenge especially after a night of eating/drinking in town but it's worth it for the atmosphere with many little shops/cafes/bars en route to distract you.

The 'Dutch' breakfast is also worth mentioning. It really sets you up for the day and armed with the personalised map you receive when you check in nothing can go wrong!!

It is a B+B with character - the little touches are really personal - even down to the 'Teddy' hot water bottle placed in your bed at night time.

I would recommend Casa Pombal without hesitation and would return myself

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaskazoneRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews