We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bang for your buck”
Review of Casa Pombal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Pombal
Ranked #3 of 35 Coimbra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012

If you are looking for a clean and budget-friendly hotel, you can't make a better choice. Anja went above and beyond the call of duty to help us with whatever we needed. Good location and lekker (yummy) breakfast!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jayhawk913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 206 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed one night in May 2012, and can highly recommend. We liked the special attention to small details. A good breakfast is included. Excellent value in this price range.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuzzySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in late April 2012. The on-line reviews made us pick this place and I must say we were not disappointed at all. As previous reviewers noted soon after on-line booking we got an e-mail from the inn-keeper with useful information regarding the location. We rented a car in Coimbra for day-trips to the surrounding areas and without the useful advice of the hotel staff could be quite difficult to find ones way around the city driving.

We had our first glass of port in Portugal at this hotel - our room on the top floor had a wonderful view of the old city in addition to a bottle of port and two glasses for tired travelers like ourselves.This was our first stop on a 10-day trip to Portugal.

The location of the hotel is perfect for visiting the old city: it is a 5 min walk to the old University sites, 3 min walk to the elevator that takes you up and down the hill for those who find the steep streets too challenging (especially when it rains) and - most importantly - the excellent breakfast and advice that the welcoming hotel personnel give the travelers. This is one of those places where you feel part of a family.

Room Tip: we had a room with private bath but the bathroom for common use looked very modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_C_Trips_02138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Right after making the booking for this guest house I received an email with a lot of useful information about how to reach the place, where to park etc. We could park for free right around the corner and were warmly welcomed by the Dutch owner upon arrival. After having settled in we received all the information we needed about what to see, where to go for dinner (Flor de Coimbre, great place!!) and to visit a Fado concert in the evening. We could use umbrellas from the guest house because it was raining cats and dogs.
The room waa slightly cramped but did have high ceilings to make it feel spacious. The beds were good and the shared bathroom was nice and modern.
Last but not least: the breakfast buffet is absolutely fantastic with everything you can wish for. Even Dutch peanut butter and chocolate sprinkles was available ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels_Maaike_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed in Casa Pombal for three days in Feb. This is a great place in Coimbra. The welcome you receive from Anja is first class. Although not so easy to find if you follow her directions to a 't' you'll find it. It is an atmospheric 'home' rather than a hotel. Each corner of the house oozes personality - quirky and interesting.

Anja's knowledge of Coimbra is amazing. Her tips on restaurants/ cafes are not to be ignored - gives you a real sense of where the locals of Coimbra go. The hike up from town can be a challenge especially after a night of eating/drinking in town but it's worth it for the atmosphere with many little shops/cafes/bars en route to distract you.

The 'Dutch' breakfast is also worth mentioning. It really sets you up for the day and armed with the personalised map you receive when you check in nothing can go wrong!!

It is a B+B with character - the little touches are really personal - even down to the 'Teddy' hot water bottle placed in your bed at night time.

I would recommend Casa Pombal without hesitation and would return myself

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaskazoneRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Ok, you gotta walk on the hill, but gosh, the world is made of hills, and Coimbra is on a hill.
So, if in other reviews you read that the difficulty is the "geographical condition" of this place that is an evidence for the entire city.
(of course, if you want to get bored you'd better go away from Protugal, walking is fun !).
The place is charming, extreamly clean, extreamly friendly and immerged in the historical city, near to all's worth seing in Coimbra.
I advice to have a night walk of the city after the weekend , that's Methafisics !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Our stay in this B&B in the old town was great: Anja gave us a choice of rooms, and we opted for the one at the top of the house, with the view over the town from the bathroom. Her town map and advice were very welcome as our stay in Coimbra was short, and the breakfast was great, very varied. Great value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cfish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#3 of 23 in Coimbra
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
1,191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
785 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#2 of 23 in Coimbra
1,329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pombal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pombal

Address: Rua das Flores 18, Coimbra 3000-442, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Coimbra
Price Range: $53 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Pombal is a small bed & breakfast on the top of a hill in the historical heart of Coimbra. This old townhouse is utterly unpretentious and will stir feelings of nostalgia for those student years. The rooms are basic, but stylish decorated, each with its own Portuguese atmosphere. All rooms have heating and most rooms have private bathrooms. Some rooms have a beautiful view over the city and the river Mondego. Breakfast is Included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Pombal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pombal Hotel Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing