We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not typical”
Review of Hotel Oslo Coimbra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not typical”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I spent one night in the hotel. The room was tiny, no t.v.,breakfast was poor. Above all the receptionist was rude not typical to the people of Portugal. The price is high for the service we got, and comparing to the hotels near by.From my point of view the hotel is
not recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GadNathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    484
    231
    37
    15
See reviews for
241
540
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheongju, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked with Residencial Aeminium, but I can't find it here. Oslo Hotel was next to the Residencial and the same staff was attending both places.

Our stay at the residencial/hotel was very good. The breakfast was really the best. There was a huge selection and the wifi was good.

We had a drink at the bar on the top floor of the hotel which overlooks the city and its' beautiful lights.

The hotel had free parking and was near to several bakeries and supermarkets.
The only complaint I have is that our heater didnt work, but we had blankets.

It was a nice place to stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were here for only a night, but found the hotel to be quite comfortable. The room was clean and modern; the washroom was massive; the location was great and was about a 5 minute walk into town and a 10 minute walk to the bus station. And there was a rooftop bar at the hotel with a nice view of the old town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is located perfectly to explore the town by foot while your car is parked on their free underground parking. Upon arrival, we were given a choice to upgrade a room into a "superior' one adding 10 euro to original price of 60 euro. We agreed as the basic room looked rather terrible (reminded me of a Soviet Union hotel room) - old, dark, very basic twin. "Superior" room looked less terrible, but still dark and not cozy at all. I think you can find something better in the town at this price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofidza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomar, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times over the last couple of years--most recently last week--and felt it was high time to write our positive review. Can find no fault with this hotel. The superior grade rooms are spacious, and the standard rooms are also quite acceptable. Excellent bathrooms--especially, from a guy's perspective, with the lighting, shelf space and sink of hot water needed to shave properly. The staff is highly professional and attentive to guest's needs, and there is a genuinely great rooftop bar. Location is very good, especially if arriving by train since Coimbra A station is just a block away
The only reason we don't give it a 5 is that, apart from the roof lounge, it lacks any kind of "wow" factor. The view of Coimbra lower town is hardly inspiring (you can have a view of upper town from anywhere), and the emphasis is on efficiency rather than uniqueness.
Never the less, when we next visit Coimbra we will stay here because we know and like what we can expect.

Room Tip: If staying more than one night, spring for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravennarose96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cervia, Italy
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A very comfortable hotel in a location close to the center of Coimbra. It's on a busy main street but they have free underground parking close-by. The price is very convenient for the service provided

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola_07_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 23 in Coimbra
1,217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#15 of 23 in Coimbra
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oslo Coimbra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oslo Coimbra

Property: Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Address: Avenida Fernao de Magalhaes 25, Coimbra 3000-175, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Coimbra
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coimbra
#6 Family Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oslo Coimbra 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Coimbra, located in the center of downtown and run by a local family. Hotel Oslo Coimbra is very accessible and offers a great base to walk and feel Coimbra. The hotel makes a point in offering free parking, free breakfast buffet and free Wifi to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Oslo Coimbra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oslo Hotel Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing