We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grey old hotel, but good location and free underground parking.”
Review of Hotel Oslo Coimbra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A grey old hotel, but good location and free underground parking.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is located perfectly to explore the town by foot while your car is parked on their free underground parking. Upon arrival, we were given a choice to upgrade a room into a "superior' one adding 10 euro to original price of 60 euro. We agreed as the basic room looked rather terrible (reminded me of a Soviet Union hotel room) - old, dark, very basic twin. "Superior" room looked less terrible, but still dark and not cozy at all. I think you can find something better in the town at this price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofidza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    479
    230
    37
    15
See reviews for
238
536
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tomar, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times over the last couple of years--most recently last week--and felt it was high time to write our positive review. Can find no fault with this hotel. The superior grade rooms are spacious, and the standard rooms are also quite acceptable. Excellent bathrooms--especially, from a guy's perspective, with the lighting, shelf space and sink of hot water needed to shave properly. The staff is highly professional and attentive to guest's needs, and there is a genuinely great rooftop bar. Location is very good, especially if arriving by train since Coimbra A station is just a block away
The only reason we don't give it a 5 is that, apart from the roof lounge, it lacks any kind of "wow" factor. The view of Coimbra lower town is hardly inspiring (you can have a view of upper town from anywhere), and the emphasis is on efficiency rather than uniqueness.
Never the less, when we next visit Coimbra we will stay here because we know and like what we can expect.

Room Tip: If staying more than one night, spring for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravennarose96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cervia, Italy
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A very comfortable hotel in a location close to the center of Coimbra. It's on a busy main street but they have free underground parking close-by. The price is very convenient for the service provided

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola_07_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

A simple, honest, clean 2-3 star. Very close to everything, garage included. I believe you can have better accommodations going to the other renamed hotels of Coimbra, perhaps for a bit more $. But for the price and for the closer (not nicier), I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario_Rio_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a conveniently located hotel (less than 5-min's walk from Coimbra Rail Station) -- all major sights and shopping streets can be reached on foot easily. Interior decoration of hotel room needs refurbishment. It's a very basic hotel at affordable price (free internet in room, bring your own laptop). Choose this hotel if you need a no-frills stay with ready access to railway station/sights/shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C H T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

It's on a busy main street but they have free underground parking close-by. The area is not the most salubrious but it's a short walk to the historic town centre. Breakfast is basic and of the "help yourself" variety.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road. It's busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Our room was ok, nothing too fancy, with clean bathroom/shower. There's a great view from the rooftop bar. Feel very welcome when on arrival your car is parked and you get wifi access, city map and all the explanations you want from the helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayNo158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 23 in Coimbra
1,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
677 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#3 of 23 in Coimbra
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oslo Coimbra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oslo Coimbra

Property: Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Address: Avenida Fernao de Magalhaes 25, Coimbra 3000-175, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Coimbra
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coimbra
#6 Family Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oslo Coimbra 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Coimbra, located in the center of downtown and run by a local family. Hotel Oslo Coimbra is very accessible and offers a great base to walk and feel Coimbra. The hotel makes a point in offering free parking, free breakfast buffet and free Wifi to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Oslo Coimbra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oslo Hotel Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing