We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurante O Trovador”

Restaurante O Trovador
Reserve with
Restaurante O Trovador is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 406 Restaurants in Coimbra
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Boston MA
Level 6 Contributor
593 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Restaurante O Trovador”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Halfway to the top is this lovely spot. Enjoyed the caldo verde and omelette; dourade excellent. Great service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    115
    33
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This restaurant is next to the old cathedral and was a lovely experience. I went for the goat and wifey went for the Sea Bass, which was fantastic. Service was excellent and friendly. Good value too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good service,excellent food”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The restaurant was a really nice suprise. The restaurant was very nice, atmosphere was good and the staff was nice and very helpful. We took the day's specials and was really happy with our choices. The food looked good and tasted delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikki313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We popped up late at this place and so we could only choose between a veal with mushrooms or grilled seabream. We were all happy with our choices, the restaurant is near the university on the top of the hill and the interior design nice, very nice and clean bathroom too. The starter we had were the only disappointing bit: we asked for the charcuterie platter. Some of the salami were not good and the platter was a bit expensive compared to the rest of the menu. But overall, a nice experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank giulia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Really worth the climb”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I read the other reviews and went there. After a very tiring day we almost gave up on the steep climb.There were only 2 families in the restaurant which is sad, because we all had very delicious meal. The staf was very nice, the food excellent cooked and a very nice open interior.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katleen_lybaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Trovador also viewed

Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 
Coimbra, Coimbra District
Coimbra, Coimbra District
 

Been to Restaurante O Trovador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing