We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room, but some parts from the 70s.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We have stayed in Tivoli Coimbra Hotel only one night during our Portugal trip. We arrived there in absolutely dreadful, dark and rainy day. Lobby & reception area looked like from the 70s, so I started to worry about it. Luckily, check-in process was quick, efficient and professional. We received key card to our Superior Room number #504.

Hotel is located in the centre, so it could be quite busy and noisy around. They do offer valet parking for a fee of 7,50 EUR/24h.

Entering our room I was pleasantly surprised - it was fresh, modern and spacious. Everything was very clean as well - no issues with that at all. There was 1 Queen Bed - comfortable, but very soft; working area, coffee table with two chairs and plenty room for your luggage.

Bathroom was quite nice as well. Good quality toiletries provided, but enough only for one person, not for two. I know that you can ask, but I really do not like to bother anybody. We managed.

Air-condition in the room was really a problem. When we turned it on you could smell cigarette smoke from other (probably smoking) rooms - absolutely disgusting. We finished with window open for all evening and night. I really didn't like that.

There is a Wi-Fi Internet access, but prices are quite high. Because this hotel is part of Global Hotel Alliance they do offer for their loyalty programme GHA Discovery few benefits - Internet, bottle of water and newspaper for free - definitely worth joining. Ask Reception staff for access code.

In the morning we had breakfast in their restaurant. Really good selection of different warm and cold options available. That was good start of the day.

I have to mention that reception staff is really the best. During this short stay they helped me with few things and answered politely all my questions or needs - thank you! Bill was accurate and car delivered from garage within minutes. I would definitely come back to Tivoli Coimbra Hotel next time.

Room Tip: Superior Room is worth few EUR extra, but ask for strictly non smoking room (or floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marqoos_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

If you don't fear getting depressed once you step inside the hall stuck in the early 70s or having to pay 8 euros for 1 hour wifi (!!!) than you can cope with Tivoli Coimbra Hotel. Rooms are large and clean but untouched since the Templar age. Everything is oldstyle from the brown moquette to the faint lights. Parking costs 7.50 euros a night. Breakfast buffet wasn't that bad. City centre is nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marziana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed at Tivoli Coimbra for 3 nights. The hotel is located in what seems to be a small industrial area of Coimbra, which is not the nicest but ok (5-10 min walk to the old city which is the main tourist attraction). The rooms were big and clean. The service gets 6 out of 5 points! The staff did all they could to help in every possible way, starting from taking care of our luggage, to parking our car every evening when we returned from travelling, and always with a smile.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitsan_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

but it's not really a 4* hotel... it looks like it got stuck in the 80's and needs renovation to keep the announced quality. Bathroom is not like in the pictures... the one I got is a lot older and I was given a twin bed instead of a king size dispite making the right reservation. Mattresses are very stiff. Other than that, it's nice for a short stay and the price is good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nunogl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights - room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Reception staff pleasant and helpful. Decent breakfast - fresh fruit and pancakes were my choice. Central location. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquirrelyCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Well located, nearby city center and several bus stops. The room was wide, with lots of light and a view to the university. On the downside, despite some improvements in the lobby and restaurant, the room needed profound refurbishment and redecoration, as it was old and not cozy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RG0482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Yes, u take elevator, open your rooms' door and u r back in seventies: room, third floor, was so terribly sad, everything except tv was at least 40 years old or at least look so old. Reception area, bar and breakfast area are renowed and look ok. Cheap valet parking, friendly staff , good central location but room really to forget. They r renewing rooms, too. They need to take a hurry.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sar1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#2 of 23 in Coimbra
1,329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
1,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
1 mi away
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
#9 of 23 in Coimbra
680 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Coimbra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Coimbra Hotel

Address: Rua Joao Machado 4 5, Coimbra 3000-226, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coimbra
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range: $81 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Coimbra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tivoli Coimbra combines tradition with contemporary style. Located in the centre of Coimbra, near Rua da Sofia, the Tivoli Coimbra is an excellent 4-star Coimbra hotel which simply oozes comfort and well being. Leisure also takes on a cool feel in the atmosphere of the Tivoli Caffe Coimbra, in the meeting rooms and in the surprising and fully renovated superior rooms. Leave your car in the hotel's private car park and take a stroll around this city of tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tivoli Coimbra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing