We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Quimbra” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best in Quimbra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Simply amazing and mind blowing hotel and superb grounds around it.

Our room was just great, in fact it was the best we stayed all over the Portugal. The bedding and bathroom simply gorgeous.

Adored every day we stayed here.

Breakfast not as lavish andin abundance as you might possibly expect, but very nice and tasty.

Would we stay here again??? Most definitely Yes!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orientus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    309
    163
    44
    20
See reviews for
155
560
22
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
210 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

The food, perfect, service impecable, everything in the hotel make us wonder not to leave...spa, library, golf, you have whatever you want !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlancaBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneve
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

We spent our Valentine's day (+night) at Quinta Das Lagrimas and had the opportunity to enjoy their restaurant. For the hotel, all I can say is that it is great. If booking with sufficient advance, it is possible to get a great room for two with breakfast at rather low prices (around 100EUR...). Considering the high standards the hotel has, this can be considered good value! Try to get a palace room as they seem to have most charisma, being in the main house of the hotel, spacious and furnished in classic 19th century style. Try however to avoid the room right next to the reception, I fear it would be quite noisy and was happy for not being there. Garden rooms seem to be fine too although a bit smaller. I cannot say anything about the spa rooms but, looking at how the Spa itself is made, they probably look like any Ikea-style modern room you could find in any good hotel around the world: no use getting one of them.

Service at the hotel is very courteous and perfect, breakfast copious and excellent, the spa is a nice addition although it did not feel that special. The building itself and the gardens are definitely worth a visit just for themselves: the whole is great for a romantic stay.

The restaurant itself is a nice place with very good service although prices are a bit too high for my taste if compared to Portuguese prices in general. On Valentine's day only their special menu was available: it was good but I cannot say it was as exceptional as I expected. Portions were too small for my liking. Their accompanying wine selection however was excellent!

In summary: I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a romantic stay, the restaurant itself would need to be reevaluated under normal circumstances!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatGenevois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

The service of this hotel is great…
The comfort of the rooms is what everyone on vacations would want.
The food is the best in Coimbra (for dinner).
The best thing about this hotel is the history… Take a chance on discovering it.
The common places like the lobby and other resting areas are great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

It's a real historic building (though with a very sad history) in a beautiful park not very far from Coimbra's centre (15-20 minutes by feet). Rooms are authentic with numerous historic objects (though not very comfortable). Michelin-starred restaurant is very pretentious (though the quality of food is far from the highest standards). And breakfasts are far below 5-star standards. But the biggest problem is that the whole place is so gloomy and obscure (in contrast with very lively Coimbra) that you are very happy to leave next day.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sibvaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

Stayed at Quinta das Lagrimas for a wedding and it was absolutely perfect. Pulling up to the property, it feels like pulling up to a private home. The staff is friendly, polite and very service-oriented. There are two wings of the hotel - modern and traditional. My room was in the modern wing but I spent more time in the main, traditional part of the property. There are great old rooms and grounds to explore. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast buffet is excellent. The story behind the hotel is so romantic and it was such a perfect setting for a wedding. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyclevart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

It's not often that you get the chance to live in a former royal residence - and being treated like a royal person, too! Beautiful unique place, rooms look like you really live in a palace. Lovely garden, quiet and cosy surroundings, styligh, light and spacious breakfast room... Honestly, this is truly one of the most beautiful places I've ever been to.
If you happen to be in Coimbra, make sure you spend here at least one night. I would even say - this hotel is worth going to Coimbra!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenok2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#2 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#8 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas

Property: Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Address: Rua Antonio Augusto Goncalves | Santa Clara, Coimbra 3040-241, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
#2 Family Hotel in Coimbra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coimbra
#6 Business Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Das Lagrimas Hotel
Quinta Das Lagrimas Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing