We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good quality hotel set within a lovely old building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Notts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A good quality hotel set within a lovely old building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night in order to see a little of Coimbra. The hotel is charming even though it is surrounded by a built up area, it's grounds seclude it from most of the hub bub of Coimbra itself. We had a very nice room in the old part of the hotel which was very comfortable, the bathroom was a touch small for us and two people being in there at the same time was a squeeze. Staff wee very helpful and superb friendly, and they had a interesting a exhibition on whilst we visited. The restaurant was nice, but for us perhaps overpriced. As has been said by other guests parts of the communal areas are not as clean as one would expect, the communal corridor carpets in particular! Te pool is lovely and the gardens are great too. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    312
    163
    44
    21
See reviews for
161
566
22
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

It's a really nice historical building on a big landscape. I love the interior and this kind of traditional, historical building as it has some kind of charm in it.

The hotel has a beautiful pool, nice garden and most importantly two famous fountains in the history, right on the hotel land.

The room is lovely, not modern design but rather traditional style but nicely done.

If you want to enjoy the atmosphere in a traditional - historical building, you would enjoy this hotel. The staffs are friendly and helpful. They have free wi-fi for the guest.

The hotel locates not far from the river, maybe approx. 500-700 meters to the river and approx. 3-4 KM to the city center, walking time to the city center approx. 15 minutes but its a nice walk, along the river front.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NarissMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The building and setting are nice, quiet place and good location to explore Coimbra. But the hotel was a disappointment, it was not clean, staff wasn't friendly or helpful, the AC in the room didn't work and after we complain they put us in another room, why didn't they give us this room in the first place when they are having a heat wave?. However also in the other room the AC system wasn't working well, not cooling the room at all. There were not enough deck chairs at the swimming pool. Seems it was once a nice place but I cannot recommend it now and just not worth the price at all.
The best of the hotel is the restaurant, our best meal and wine during our Portugal trip. So stay in another hotel but go to their restaurant which is a must if you visit Coimbra.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The grounds of this hotel are lovely....spacious and pretty with a putting green
Had the potential at one time....it was an elegant residence....now it's just run down!! Needs major renovations!! The addition where breakfast is served was light and airy but the rest of the place was dark and dingy!! The pool area outside was quite nice. The staff was not particularly friendly or helpful. Would not reccomend this place at all

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didisacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Outstanding hotel, beautiful grounds, wonderful restaurant -- all in Coimbra, close to noteworthy sites -- university, shopping, dining, fado. Don't miss the opportunity to stay here. Staff is top notch, outdoor pool very welcoming. Take a walk through the gardens. We stayed in the older building, which is charming. The only problem was that our air conditioning unit was not working so the room was too warm for sleeping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLAChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Porto. Why? Because it's a freakin' palace! And well, I am a princess. Seriously, that's what i was looking for on this trip, because it was my honeymoon.

So, the hotel/palace was easy to find. GPS works wonders too. We arrived and the place is gorgeous. We checked in and were led to the end of the hotel. We had a room in the modern wing but it was nice to have a grassy area out of our side door. We also had a bubbling brook that ran the length of our part. So, a quick little walk and we were right by the pool too! Unfortunately it was still cold out (by my standards) so I couldn't swim. They also had an indoor pool which was deserted! I went to check it out and it was spooky because no one was around. I think on a weekend or during a higher season the spa is open and everything is lit up a bit more. Also, the sauna is a tiny sauna room and a shower as far as i could tell.
The rooms: ours was pretty spacious and well lit. But the king size bed is 2 twins pushed together and made as separate beds squished together. So snuggling is difficult unless you tug the tightly made sheets all apart.
The bathroom had a separate toilet closet from the mirror area and shower. Also, the tub in our room needed a touch more cleaning. There was mildew on the window between the shower and mirror (why is there a window there anyway?) and the sealant on the tub was peeling. I expect a bit more from a hotel in that price point.
Make sure to learn about Pedro and Ines!
also, walk the gardens. You get free passes with your stay.
Overall, I would stay here again but i might shop around for other deals too.

We did not try the restaurants or bar areas.

Room Tip: We stayed in the wing with the bubbling creek out side our room. Love the patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had high-hopes for staying in a renovated Palace. It was beautiful from the outside (including the grounds) but went down-hill from there.

We stayed in a Spa Room, in the modern wing of the building. The hotel is oddly configured through winding hallways and seemingly empty, large open spaces. Throughout, "wear and tear" was evident everywhere. The corners of many walls were "scraped and chipped", showing poor maintenance. The room itself was nicely sized with plenty of light. The bed was extremely comfortable with quality linens. The room, however, really looked worn-out. The carpet, walls, edge of the bed, etc. all showed signs of neglect. When new, it probably looked very nice.

When booked the hotel promised "free wifi". Unfortunately the signal did not reach our room (or barely) and an ethernet cord connection was not working. The hotel's manager did show up to try to resolve. He even brought in a router and promised to have it working when we returned. However, upon return, the router was sitting on our desk with no working internet. There was no note of explanation and the front desk never said another word.

Upon arrival we received a "letter from the manager" welcoming us to the hotel. We thought this was a nice touch but it was a poorly copied letter that looked very cheap. The letter talked about "free wine tasting" every night and we decided to give it a try. Upon arriving to the bar, we were told it was a "free welcome glass of wine". He wasn't very friendly and didn't offer any further explanation.

We decided to also check out the Spa services as we wanted to book a massage. The man at the front desk was not very friendly. They had a special 30 minute massage for 25 euro. We stated we wanted a 60 minute massage and asked if we could book 2 of these together. He looked at us like we were crazy and said this wasn't possible (at all) The Spa looked rather sad and worn at the edges as well. There was probably 1 person down in the facilities when we visited.

We had heard rumours of a Michelin Starred restaurant on the premises and decided to check out the menu. Upon inquiry we found out the restaurant had LOST it's Michelin star last year due to a "very bad visit". The menu looked pretty over-priced and just added to the feel of the "entire place going down-hill"

It's very unfortunate that the hotel is going downhill. It is a beautiful building with nice gardens. However, the staff and general maintenance are not up to par for a "4 star Hotel". I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollywoodvfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#2 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#6 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#8 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas

Property: Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Address: Rua Antonio Augusto Goncalves | Santa Clara, Coimbra 3040-241, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coimbra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coimbra
#6 Business Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Das Lagrimas Hotel
Quinta Das Lagrimas Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing