We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Coimbra, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Definitly this is the place to stay in Coimbra. Lots of history, a great construction and a wonderful restaurant.
The place is very charming, with a exceptional service.
Some rooms are more "interesting" than other. I did not like the modern area... is out of context. Prefer the rooms in the Palace. I stayed in a garden room, and felt it a little bit poor to be a Relais & Chateaux: very, but very poor pilow quality, very regular bathroom... really nothing special in this type of room. The palace rooms are at leat more stylish.
The dinner was amazing... wonderful food and wine.
It worth wath you pay (it´s not expensive at all) and to be in such an historical place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

The main part of the hotel is a beautiful building and the staff could not be friendlier. The gardens are multiple and well-groomed and the spa is excellent. My room was in the new part of the hotel and was more basic than I had hoped. The bed and furniture were more of an Ikea standard which is disappointing given the magnificence of the rest of the hotel. I would stay here again though, and the price really was very reasonable for what you get.

Room Tip: Stay in the main (older) part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaSym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of the palace rooms ( no 3 ) and enjoyed it. Welcome drink was served in the bar and a fire place on a cold and rainy evening was really welcoming.The room had style,was big and nicely decorated.Bathroom was big and comfortable We walked to the town through the foot bridge which took 20 minutes.Breakfast was in the new wing and was Ok.Could be better....Although it was not easy to find the Hotel ,parking our car was easy and safe...We had a pleasant walk in the garden after the breakfast.The Hotel must be beautiful in spring and I would love to come back....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelybulut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a very unusual property with a golf course and extensive private gardens. Their fine dining restaurant, Arcadas was excellent in both food and service. The Bamboo Garden Spa was also very nice. The main building has beautiful furnishing and art work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We reserved at Quinta das Lagrimas, based on their affiliation to the Chateaux et Demeures network and their historic features. The hotel is beautiful, but most of the rooms are in an annex newly constructed. The new construction is well concealed from the view when arriving to the hotel, but we felt disappointed staying in the new wing. The room was comfortable but without any special character. In addition, the breakfast is also served in the new part of the hotel, so except for the check in and check out you do not get to spend much time in the historical part of the building.

Overall, the experience was pleasant: we enjoyed the indoor pool, the cozy bar, the lounges and the large botanical garden, but the website is somewhat deceiving as it does not disclose that most of the hotel is new.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlington_VAJc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The old part of the hotel is beautiful, the staff was helpful and polite, and the pool areas, indoor and outdoor were very nice, but our room in the spa wing had extremely uncomfortable mattresses, the furniture looked worn, the tv was small and old and there was no clock in the room. I cannot comment about the rooms in the historic part of the hotel, but these 'new' rooms were not of a high quality that one would expect for Relais & Chateaux. For example, while the rooms were clean, it was a bit amusing that a used towel that had been placed in the tub to be replaced was hung back up to be reused. The lack of premier service seems like a trend in some of the other reviews as well.

Additionally, I would not recommend the Michelin Star restaurant either as the fish did not have a fresh taste and service was a bit pretentious and we had a better meal (at much lower cost) walking to a restaurant on the other side of the river (this restaurant was named Portugeusa or something like that).

Finally, if you are driving to the hotel, it is very difficult to find as the signs are not always pointing in the right direction and there are several entrances that are not for guests and the main entrance has a very narrow gated entrance. Try to arrive in the daytime so you can ask locals to point it out.

Room Tip: Stay in the historic part and not the modern spa rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimming22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at Quinta das Lagrimas for one night in room # 17 in the main building. Upon our arrival, we found a few ants in the bathroom. We informed the front desk and they sent someone to solve the problem. After coming back from dinner, we still found ants crawling on the wall, towels and floor. After showering in the morning, hundreds of ants were on the vanity. We informed once again the front desk and they sent a maid to clean it. Upon our departure, we expressed our disappointment to the front desk clerk. She replied that it was an onging problem at the hotel. This is absolutely unacceptable especially for a "Relais et Châteaux" 4 star hotel. This is the worst hotel we stayed in during our holiday in Portugal.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#2 of 23 in Coimbra
1,293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
1,141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,345 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibn-Arrik
Hotel Ibn-Arrik
#11 of 23 in Coimbra
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas

Address: Rua Antonio Augusto Goncalves | Santa Clara, Coimbra 3040-241, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coimbra
#2 Family Hotel in Coimbra
#6 Business Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range: $127 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Das Lagrimas Hotel
Quinta Das Lagrimas Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing