We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a forgettable town with a lousy tour!”
Review of Tryp Coimbra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed here for one night with Trapsatour (trap in a tour) far from city center, rooms are large but average with no wifi. Join Trap a tour only if you love chicken...serve four times in six included meals.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Sales Department at Tryp Coimbra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Good Afternonn from Tryp Coimbra!

Dear sir, thank you for your words.
Please, let us inform you that we have wifi in the hotel and in the rooms but it is not a free service.
If you were not well informed at the reception, please acept our apologies.

We hope to see you again in our hotel and we stay at your disposal.

Best Regards,

Ana Marques
Sales Department
Tryp Coimbra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Tryp Coimbra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 646 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2011

Good hotel, very nice breakfeast. The parking should be included in the price. Nice rooms

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
Thank resmasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Sales Department at Tryp Coimbra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Good Afternoon!

Thank you for choosing Tryp Coimbra and for giving your opinion.

We hope to receive you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Ana Marques
Sales Department
Tryp Coimbra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I staied in a Suite for 2 nights in a Business trip.
- Location is quiet and calm, it is about 100m from the Hospital University of Coimbra (HUC). But about 15 - 20 minutes walking to the Center. If you don`t like to walk, they can call a taxi, it is about 3€ the trip to the city center. And there are some Buses near.
- Car Parking (I think) is about 6€ per day, or you can try free park in the surroundings.

PROS:
- Nice Staff, they give me a map and explain me where to go in Coimbra.
- The room was large, with a small kitchenette, as you can see in the Photos (i don`t know if that was working because there was no tableware and i didn`t use that).
- The bed was a huge King size and confortable. I think that the room is very good decorated but a little bit out of fashion.
- Very clean.
- Free TV Cable / Big LCD TV
- Good Bathroom (hair dryer).
- The Breakfast was very good with 3 types of natural juices (orange, tangerine and abacaxi), yogurts, coffee, milk, cereals, fruit and other options. They have also the english breakfast type but i didn`t see the options, because i prefer the Continental one.
- They have Free Bikes that you can use!
- Location is quiet peaceful.
- Good access

CONS:
- No Pool and no Spa (It is a 4**** Hotel)
- Not perfect for families.
- No Free Internet (but it was not expensive as other Hotels). I think that if you enjoy the "Fon Zon Free Internet" and you don`t have a free log in (La fonera or Zon Net Users), you can use it for 2.50€ per day or 7.50€ (5 days).
- Bad sound isolation from the other rooms! But usualy it is peaceful.

Good relationship price / quality.

Room Tip: For light sleepers, ask for a back room.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana M, Sales Department at Tryp Coimbra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Good Afternoon!

Thank you for choosing Tryp Coimbra and for giving your opinion.
We remember that we have free internet in our business center.

We hope to receive you again in our hotel and we stay at your disposal.

Best Regards,

Ana Marques
Sales Department
Tryp Coimbra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This is a typically business hotel, far from the historical University of Coimbra which is a disadvantage. Rooms are large but with a bad noise isolation. Hotel does not offer commodities for families, such as swimming pool or playing room. Breakfast can be good, yet natural orange juice is not available. The breakfast room can be so crowded that together with the lack of waiters, makes you running out of that room. Not designed for families.

Room Tip: The rear rooms
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PortugueseLullaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed here on a last minute telephone decision, to go to a funeral and without even having visited the website. I find this hotel to be generally bad, outdated, too big, low standard in everything. The location is bad, the rooms are dark and big but not confortable, it's meant for tasteless business travelers. I'd say it is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in, mostly because of its total lack of charm: huge, enormous reception with lots of shinny, golden stuff all over but you can't really figure out your way to the elevator. The staff was Ok but there was a convention going on in the hotel so mostly every energy was directed towards that organisation. Not really my style, my son didn't want to stay, he couldn't even believe it was a hotel when we arrived (he's 6). Of course we were not traveling for pleasure so it had to do but I wouldn't stay here again, even if was for free.
We desliked it, but it's not to say you won't get a good night sleep or that it's dirty or anything really bad. It's just totally charmless and cold. I am an architect so this could also have an influence on my opinion: it's one of the uggliest buildings I've ever seen, so uninteresting and lacking all functionality, bad detaling, bad construction, it's totally depressing.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cinanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

As hotels go, this one is comfortable enough but is not well placed for the old town or university. It has very little character, being a multistory 'box' with standard rooms and reception lounges. Rooms are fine and in reasonable condition with decent bathrooms. Those at the front are noisy given the busy road outside and, although the double glazed windows help, the airconditioning doesn't work well enough to keep them closed all night. Rooms at the back are much better and offer better views. Plenty of free parking but, as mentioned above, you face a good 20 minute walk in the very steep streets to get to the old town or university. Overall, fine for a conference or business meeting, not recommended for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxforduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Modern hotel with no soul or style, but friendly and professional staff at reception. Good seating and excellent service at the bar.Large room with king size bed and all amenities. However, windows are poorly insulated, so noise is a problem, both to the roadside or to the courtyard!!!
In the morning, breakfast was mayhem, with long queues and chaos in finding cutlery, food, milk, etc. Next morning things improved, a good selection of breads, cereals, bacon and eggs...but soft drinks are rather synthetic and brightly coloured.
Overall the hotel was a good value for money. Coimbra is a lovely old town, worth a visit. Nice squares with a lot of eating places, nice tasty food and not expensive at all!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestCountryFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#2 of 23 in Coimbra
1,254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
738 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
1,100 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,270 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Coimbra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Coimbra Hotel

Address: Alameda Armando Gonsalves 20, Coimbra 3000-059, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
#5 Family Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range: $68 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Coimbra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with multilingual staff, restaurant and bar is located on a hillside 100 meters from the University Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Coimbra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing