We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad location, bad service”
Review of Tryp Coimbra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bad location, bad service”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This is a typically business hotel, far from the historical University of Coimbra which is a disadvantage. Rooms are large but with a bad noise isolation. Hotel does not offer commodities for families, such as swimming pool or playing room. Breakfast can be good, yet natural orange juice is not available. The breakfast room can be so crowded that together with the lack of waiters, makes you running out of that room. Not designed for families.

Room Tip: The rear rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PortugueseLullaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    311
    140
    28
    6
See reviews for
178
178
34
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed here on a last minute telephone decision, to go to a funeral and without even having visited the website. I find this hotel to be generally bad, outdated, too big, low standard in everything. The location is bad, the rooms are dark and big but not confortable, it's meant for tasteless business travelers. I'd say it is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in, mostly because of its total lack of charm: huge, enormous reception with lots of shinny, golden stuff all over but you can't really figure out your way to the elevator. The staff was Ok but there was a convention going on in the hotel so mostly every energy was directed towards that organisation. Not really my style, my son didn't want to stay, he couldn't even believe it was a hotel when we arrived (he's 6). Of course we were not traveling for pleasure so it had to do but I wouldn't stay here again, even if was for free.
We desliked it, but it's not to say you won't get a good night sleep or that it's dirty or anything really bad. It's just totally charmless and cold. I am an architect so this could also have an influence on my opinion: it's one of the uggliest buildings I've ever seen, so uninteresting and lacking all functionality, bad detaling, bad construction, it's totally depressing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cinanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
138 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

As hotels go, this one is comfortable enough but is not well placed for the old town or university. It has very little character, being a multistory 'box' with standard rooms and reception lounges. Rooms are fine and in reasonable condition with decent bathrooms. Those at the front are noisy given the busy road outside and, although the double glazed windows help, the airconditioning doesn't work well enough to keep them closed all night. Rooms at the back are much better and offer better views. Plenty of free parking but, as mentioned above, you face a good 20 minute walk in the very steep streets to get to the old town or university. Overall, fine for a conference or business meeting, not recommended for sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxforduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Modern hotel with no soul or style, but friendly and professional staff at reception. Good seating and excellent service at the bar.Large room with king size bed and all amenities. However, windows are poorly insulated, so noise is a problem, both to the roadside or to the courtyard!!!
In the morning, breakfast was mayhem, with long queues and chaos in finding cutlery, food, milk, etc. Next morning things improved, a good selection of breads, cereals, bacon and eggs...but soft drinks are rather synthetic and brightly coloured.
Overall the hotel was a good value for money. Coimbra is a lovely old town, worth a visit. Nice squares with a lot of eating places, nice tasty food and not expensive at all!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCountryFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
279 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed here one night on way to Porto. In hindsight I wouldn't bother as really only the university is special to see and this doesn't take long. The hotel was a great disappointment. Service was very poor, rooms were below average and it's a lengthy hike to city center in much traffic. Dinner is the restaurant was only so-so.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Nice modern hotel, easy to find.
Not very good was all the sounds you can from from de rooms around during night, even a couple making love, and people talking...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apollo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

The Hotel Tryp was one of a short list suggested by the organisers of a conference. Contacting the hotel by e-mail and booking directly was trouble free. I am a light sleeper and so requested a quiet room. I was given a room on the 5th floor, but the traffic noise from the busy road outside was a problem. The degree of sound-proofing between rooms was not good. I was in a twin room at a very competitive rate negotiated by the conference organisers. The room was large, ensuite and spotlessly clean. The TV had just 2 English language stations but had a good sized screen.

Hotel staff were polite and courteous rather than particularly friendly. There was a wide range of food and beverages available at the buffet breakfast. Tables were cleared reasonably promptly.

Sharing a taxi to the city centre is a cheap and quick transport option. Actually, walking into town is a pleasant 25 minutes of exercise. Walking uphill from town to the hotel is much harder if you are not reasonably fit and a taxi may be the better option for older adults and small children

  • Liked — Cleanliness, spacious room.
  • Disliked — External and internal noise at night
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BelfastDubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
1,152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
660 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 21 in Coimbra
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 21 in Coimbra
1,205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
1,028 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Coimbra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Coimbra Hotel

Property: Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Address: Alameda Armando Gonsalves 20, Coimbra 3000-059, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Coimbra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Coimbra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with multilingual staff, restaurant and bar is located on a hillside 100 meters from the University Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Coimbra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing