We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel D. Luis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel D. Luis
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great View.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Nice hotel with great view of Coimbra. Staff was pleasant, and rooms were sufficient and clean. WIFI worked well. Breakfast buffet was really good as well as the dinner buffet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldluis, Sales department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Is very greatful for us to hear that everything worked well during your stay.
You and your family are welcome to come to Best Western Hotel D. Luís anytime you need to stay in Coimbra.

Your sincerely,
Tânia Soares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    249
    141
    37
    14
See reviews for
168
186
18
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caceres, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

We will treasure this Hotel. Its staff is very polite and helpful. It has a gorgeous view over Coimbra. Our room was very clean and provided a very good sleep quality. Even beeing a Hotel from the 90' it has got all modern amenities. We loved the restaurant. A bit far from the city center, though. Free parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iberico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. The location of Best Western Hotel D. Luís allowed to have the most panoramic view all over the city.
Thank you very much for your words.

Yours sincerely
Tânia soares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed at D. Luis for business purposes.
Best:
Free WI FI all over the Hotel and from your room;
The staff is extremely friendly and nice without being overbearing;
Free parking;
The quality of the food at the restaurant;
Great breakfast buffet;
I got a standard room, but with a little balcony, wich was perfect.
The price I got in the Hotel website

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony facing Coimbra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salomon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It's greatful for us to confirm that our services are very much appreciated by you. That is our goal.

Next time you visit Coimbra, we will be were at your disposal.

Yours Sincerely,

Tânia Soares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Spent 2 nights here in November.
Good size room, smallish bathroom, but all clean and functional. Free parking and wi-fi (worked well in room). Comfortable twin beds. In room safe (charged). TV had a very good selection of English language entertainment channels.
Dined in the restaurant - hotel residents can take the "economic" menu, 3 courses, very reasonable price. All good quality.
Breakfast buffet 'ok' - hot section not really hot, as is so common with buffets!
Quite a walk from Coimbra centre, but I found parking spaces closer to town and walked over river bridge.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front, overlooking car park, have a great panoramic view over Coimbra. Hotel is in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you spent your time sharing your experience at Best Western Hotel D. Luis.

Anytime you come back you have here a home at your disposal.

We will be waiting for your next visit to Coimbra.

Yours Sincerely

Tânia Soares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

According to the pictures and reviews, I was expecting a nice hotel comparable to a Bestwestern in northen America but I was disapointed...On a positive note, the mattresses were comfortable and it was clean. The view of the city was picture perfect since the hotel is on top a a hill accross the river from Coimbra's old district. The buffet breakfast was plentyful but was cold...Cold crepes (pancakes), cold water (for tea or hot chocolate), cold fried eggs. The only thing warm was the toasts that you can toast yourself. The Maitre d'Hotel was very nice though and warmed up my pancakes when he saw my disapointment without having to ask. He explained that there is no cook in the morning and everything is prepared the night before. Some of the other guests were not so happy and it must have been hard on the staff to try to please everyone...

The room itself was in bad need of new carpets and furniture. It probably dates back to 1950. The bathroom also needs updating. You need a car, since it's not in the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mist59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Your oppinion is very important to us in order to improve our service.
We were very surprised that the hot products you mentioned were cold. Every hot meal in our breakfast is made in the same day, in the morning, and also we have proper recipients to keep the products warm.
We will take care about it in order to avoid it happens again.
Hope to welcome you again at Best Western Hotel D. Luis.

Yours Sincerly,
Tânia Soares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coimbra hotels

tel aviv
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I realy don't have enough words to describe how much i enjoyed my one night stay in this hotel. First of all we were invited to a welcome port drink before the check in. The man behind the desk was smilly and friendly.
The rooms are big enough and so are the bathrooms. Very clean.
Extraordinary breakfast for a 3 stars hotel. You get a wonderfull view throw the window or from your balcony. You can see the famous university of Coimbra and the hudge river Mondego.There is a kettle in the room. Free cofee and tea.
Unfortunately, after one night i mooved on to continue my treep to the north.
I wish i'll have all my 3 stars hotels in the future like this one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank perli30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldluis, Sales Department at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for your words. We are very glad that our work making people happy is working. That is our job! Hope to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We only stayed here overnight on our tour so we didn't have much time here but we liked what we saw. Great location on a hill overlooking the city of Coimbra with a gret view of its university. We were given a room on the front with a balcony to enjoy the fantastic view. The room was good and clean. Only hotel we've seen in Europe with a kettle to make tea in your room. (no coffee was provided though). Dinner and breakfast were well organized and we loved the food, especially at dinner. The soup and the fish cakes were great.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking Coimbra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newfcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldluis, Departamento comercial at Hotel D. Luis, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. In fact, the view allover the city is marvelous! Coimbra has "encanto" as well as Best Western Hotel D. Luis..
We will be waiting for your visit, next time at least 2 nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#8 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#6 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D. Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D. Luis

Property: Hotel D. Luis
Address: Rotunda da Ponte Rainha Santa Isabel, Coimbra 3040-091, Portugal (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel D. Luís)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel D. Luis 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel D. Luis is located near downtown Coimbra, in a quiet area with stunning views of the city, the Mondego River and the University of Coimbra. Inaugurated in 1988 and in keeping with a classic and functional style, it combines a family atmosphere and personalized service that distinguish it from other hotels. With areas worthy of a 4-star hotel and adapted to the new technologies, Hotel D. Luis provides comfort both in pleasure trips and business trips. Access to the WIFI network is available at no additional cost throughout the hotel. Its excellent location allows its customers to be near the town centre and simultaneously enjoy its calm atmosphere, without having to worry about parking. At sunset, the gardens of the hotel induce to walks that will transport your imagination to another time, because wherever you look you can contemplate one of the oldest cities in Europe. In the Panorama restaurant you will have the privilege of tasting the most exquisite foods of the city and enjoying the best views of Coimbra. The bar, with a varied list of cocktails and appetizers, is the ideal place to relax after a day in the city. Hotel D. Luis rooms and services are also ideal for meetings, for it has 5 rooms provided with the newest technology, perfect for hosting meetings, conferences, wedding receptions or dinners for special occasions, making it the ideal complement for the many events that take place in Coimbra, the University and the hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel D. Luis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western d Luis
Best Western Coimbra
Coimbra Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing