We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real vacation”
Review of Casa nas Serras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa nas Serras
Ranked #1 of 30 Coimbra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zele, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The real vacation”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We've spent 6 nights in Casa Nas Serras the last week in June.
We could relax the whole vacation because of the great accomadations : very good equipped and cool rooms, a fantastic swimming pool and the use of the BBQ where we all had dinners in the beautiful garden. Every morning also a healty and very tasty breakfast in the morning sun.
We were also very good advised by Frederik and Angelique to do several trips in the environment.
You won't regret staying at Casa Nas Serras !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jurgen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
92
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monifieth, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the wonderful Casa Nas Serras earlier this month. Everything we had read about it in the reviews is true and we were not disappointed. Apart from the lovely house and delicious breakfasts what really makes the place so special is Frederique and Angelique themselves. They are so hospitable and nothing is too much trouble. They clearly want you to have a memorable stay. When we were there there was a heatwave in the area and it was unbearably hot. That was the only thing - I personally found it very difficult to sleep with no air conditioning. However 42 degees is not the norm so I'm sure having the huge glass doors wide open would normally be absolutely fine! The pool in the beautiful grounds was also much appreciated! During that time they even drove us to local restaurants so we didn't have to walk in the heat. Nothing was too much trouble.They also kindly invited us into their sitting room so we could watch and cheer on Andy Murrray playing (and of course winning) the Wimbledon final. We were treated like friends. Go and visit Casa Nas Serras you will not be disappointed either.

Room Tip: We had a lovely big side room with its own kitchen facilites. Having the fridge was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyW742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We've spent 10 nights in Casa Nas Serras in June 2013. We were welcomed by Frederik and Angelique en immediately we felt at home. The room was perfect for us, but most of all we enjoyed the surroundings and accomodation: the garden, the swimming pool, the quietness and most importantly: the sun!
We've made several trips in the environment and the hosts always had some very good recommendations, which was quite a help. It made our vacation even more relaxing.

We can recommend this Casa very much. You won't regret it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maarten V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Shortly after our first stay with Casa nas Serras in august, we decided to go back there as soon as possible. So this Easter, we did, to arrive in a rather differend landscape, everything was so green, wonderful.
The hosts Angelique, Frederic and Chopin (the dog) were warm as ever (even if the weather wasn't always), the breakfast as splendid as before, the scenery beautiful,... We had the largest room, equipped with a kitchenette and large enough to spend the day reading when the weather really would'nt play along. And even after our second stay now, we still have many sites in the surroundings to visit.
Needless to say we're allready looking forward to our third trip there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

After driving through the quaint little towns in Portugal, we saw Casa Nas Serras in the distance. The house has been beautifully renovated, and is both modern and cozy. We stayed for the entire week and enjoyed the company of Angelique and Frederik, who were wonderful hosts, and always able to recommend a good restuarant, activity (we went kayaking), or day trip. Every morning started with breakfast, with amazing fresh bread from the local bakery, home made jams and jogurts, as well as something different everyday(fruit salad, cinnamon rolls,etc..) In the evenings we enjoyed the lounge chairs by the pool. Its a great location to drive to Coimbra, Porto, Tomar and other interesting places in Portugal. We had the feeling of staying with friends. We are going back next year, and have told all our friends and colleagues to do the same!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Angelique, Frederik and Chopin (the dog) transformed this old Portuguese landhouse in a bright, comfortable and cosy place to stay. Everything you're used to in normal day life is available with some enormous extras like: sun, a swimming pool, a splendid view and a peaceful almost sacred environment...
A really fenomenal spot if you want to get out of your hectic working life. And, if possible, you're fed up with the silence and quiet environment, take your car and drive to Lousa (15 min), Coimbra (30 min) or Porto (1 hour)!
Frederik and Angelique are always available for a chat, good advice for things to do (restaurants, activities in the surroundings, markets to visit,...) and the dog is the most charming ever!
Very remarkable and cute is that they have a recipe-book for the guests who've cooked for them, so you know what to do when you're there :-).

Room Tip: There are five rooms. 4 on the ground floor and all of them have a terrace (1 big room to the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a wonderfull stay at Casa nas Serras. Angelique and Frederik were fantastic hosts. The rooms are nice and I loved the view towads the hills. It was a pitty it was already november and too cold to enjoy the swimming pool in their lovely garden. The area is fantasti, with lots of nature and Combra only half an hour away by car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DL1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
8.5 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
1,068 reviews
8.7 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 23 in Coimbra
1,217 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
698 reviews
8.5 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,298 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa nas Serras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa nas Serras

Property: Casa nas Serras
Address: Estr. EN2 | Santa Maria, Arrifana, Coimbra 3350-023, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa nas Serras is a bed and breakfast located in central Portugal. Situated just outside of Vila Nova de Poiares, a small town in the middle of nature. In May 2010 renovations were started on this authentic Portuguese country house. It is run by Angelique De Geest and Frederik Buys, a young Belgian couple. Under the Portuguese sun and surrounded by beautiful views, they hope to welcome you at Casa nas Serras. GPS: 40.222025,-8.271641 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa nas Serras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing