We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa nas Serras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa nas Serras
Ranked #2 of 25 Coimbra B&B and Inns
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Pure relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

After driving through the quaint little towns in Portugal, we saw Casa Nas Serras in the distance. The house has been beautifully renovated, and is both modern and cozy. We stayed for the entire week and enjoyed the company of Angelique and Frederik, who were wonderful hosts, and always able to recommend a good restuarant, activity (we went kayaking), or day trip. Every morning started with breakfast, with amazing fresh bread from the local bakery, home made jams and jogurts, as well as something different everyday(fruit salad, cinnamon rolls,etc..) In the evenings we enjoyed the lounge chairs by the pool. Its a great location to drive to Coimbra, Porto, Tomar and other interesting places in Portugal. We had the feeling of staying with friends. We are going back next year, and have told all our friends and colleagues to do the same!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
82
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Angelique, Frederik and Chopin (the dog) transformed this old Portuguese landhouse in a bright, comfortable and cosy place to stay. Everything you're used to in normal day life is available with some enormous extras like: sun, a swimming pool, a splendid view and a peaceful almost sacred environment...
A really fenomenal spot if you want to get out of your hectic working life. And, if possible, you're fed up with the silence and quiet environment, take your car and drive to Lousa (15 min), Coimbra (30 min) or Porto (1 hour)!
Frederik and Angelique are always available for a chat, good advice for things to do (restaurants, activities in the surroundings, markets to visit,...) and the dog is the most charming ever!
Very remarkable and cute is that they have a recipe-book for the guests who've cooked for them, so you know what to do when you're there :-).

Room Tip: There are five rooms. 4 on the ground floor and all of them have a terrace (1 big room to the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a wonderfull stay at Casa nas Serras. Angelique and Frederik were fantastic hosts. The rooms are nice and I loved the view towads the hills. It was a pitty it was already november and too cold to enjoy the swimming pool in their lovely garden. The area is fantasti, with lots of nature and Combra only half an hour away by car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DL1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My GF and I spent only one night at Casa Bas Serras in October, but wished we'd spent at least two. Angelique and Frederik we amazing hosts and we had such a great time talking to them the day we arrived and at breakfast the morning after.

The location is wonderful and peaceful yet only a 30 minute drive from Coimbra. A great base to explore this area, yet have a quiet evening. There are a few restaurants nearby, or eat in Coimbra nearby.

The facility and rooms are in great condition and there is a lovely swimming pool nearby as well. The furnishings are modern, clean and quite new.

Breakfast was good and we chatted with Angelique and Frederik for almost an hour before we left.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryynoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Barrington, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Angelique's and Frederik's wonderful B&B is a true gem and they are great hosts. Casa nas Serras is a special place surrounded by natural beauty. The rooms are spacious and impeccably clean, the breakfast is delicious and served on the terrasse overlooking the surrounding hills. We can only recommend staying at Casa nas Serras if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
274 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 766 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We only regret we had but one night at Angelique and Frederik's wonderful B & B. It is obvious they have taken painstaking care to provide a special stop to kick back and relax.

Quiet and peaceful, Casa nas Serras is located in a local region but within a short distance to see the sites of central Portugal. They have done a beautiful renovation and the rooms are fresh, modern, exceptionally clean and comfortable.

But the true gem is Angelique and Frederik themselves. Friendly and helpful they go out of their way to make your experience a special one. They are even available to help you after your departure (thanks guys!!).

Thank you for providing a relaxing, albeit brief, respite during our hectic travel schedule.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very nice b&b, lovely house with very nice views over the surrounding hills.
The 2 Flemish owners are very friendly and hospitable. If you wake up early in the morning, you can enjoy a wonderful sunrise over the surrounding hills with the fog in the valleys...unforgettable! And afterwards a nice breakfast is waiting for you on the 1st floor.
We will certainly return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rapazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
8.5 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
8.7 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#2 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
8.5 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#6 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa nas Serras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa nas Serras

Property: Casa nas Serras
Address: Estr. EN2 | Santa Maria, Arrifana, Coimbra 3350-023, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa nas Serras is a bed and breakfast located in central Portugal. Situated just outside of Vila Nova de Poiares, a small town in the middle of nature. In May 2010 renovations were started on this authentic Portuguese country house. It is run by Angelique De Geest and Frederik Buys, a young Belgian couple. Under the Portuguese sun and surrounded by beautiful views, they hope to welcome you at Casa nas Serras. GPS: 40.222025,-8.271641 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa nas Serras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing