We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night”
Review of Ibis Coimbra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Coimbra
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nicely located next to train station Coimbra A (remember that main station there is Coimbra B, and then you have to take shuttle train to Coimbra A), simple average hotel for night night. We were given room with the (closed) door to next room and said that nobody with be in the next room. Well, it was not true, and all noises from the next room were easily heard, a bit annoying, otherwise OK.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedrus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Ibis Coimbra is very conveniently located close to the old town and a short walk from the railway station and bus station. As a budget hotel the rooms were fine, clean and comfortable but the plumbing seemed to be a bit of a problem, We had a room overlooking the park and the river with wonderful views but it suffered a bit from traffic noise. The staff were friendly and helpful. For the price (38.25 EUR) this was good value. It is very close to lots of eating and shopping and a shortish walk over the river bridge to a large modern shopping centre.

Room Tip: The higher floors facing the road have a nice view but suffer from some traffic noise, the ones at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdlRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Danigin
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having arrived in Miranda do Corvo to find that our hotel was SHUT there was nothing else for it but to make tracks back to Coimbra for the night. At least you get what you pay for - this is a budget hotel at a budget price but it is still clean with good rooms close to town and with lovely views and walks along the river.
Dont bother to eat there in the evening unless you are desperate - I cant tell you what the hotel food is like as, unless you can't walk the few metres to the small squares where there are loads of small good restaurants, then you get what you deserve.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norifolk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The location of the hotel is very convenient for walking around the old part of town. The room was okay for a two star hotel, but the bathroom smelled. I think they have a plumbing problem because when the bathroom sink drained, the water burbled up out of the bathtub drain. The breakfast costs 6 Euro, and I felt this was very overpriced for what they offered. There was no hot food. On the good side, they did have a machine which could make fresh orange juice. The bed was comfortable. Wireless services were available, but only worked part of the time. They do have parking available in the basement of the hotel, which was a nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed 1 night in May 2013 to break up the drive from Porto to Lisbon and to explore Coimbra. It is marketed as an Ibis, but I wonder whether it should be Ibis Budget based on the room.
The location is a short stroll from the town centre, and easy to find. It has a parking garage which seems mandatory due to the lack of street parking nearby. It was 6 euro per day to park, but be careful navigating the VERY tight corners of the underground parking garage.
The room was very basic twin on the 2nd level facing the main street, but seemed well insulated for noise. The room was quite dated and extremely small - with 2 suitcases on the floor it was not possbile to move around the room. The beds were a strange configuration of slat bed, topped with a mattress, topped with another thin mattress, making them very soft and unsupportive. The heater/cooler did not work. The worst part was the bathroom which had no ventilation, and had a VERY BAD SMELL, likely to be from the shower curtain (ditch the fabric curtain guys and use plastic!). TV worked and there was free WIFI.
Over-all, good location but another example of how the lobby does not reflect the condition of the rooms.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom and insist on a new shower curtain if yours stinks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weary_Traveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night in March. It is everything you can expect from an Ibis hotel: simple, but clean and comfortable. The location was convenient and the breakfast, good. The only thing I suggest them is changing the bathroom’s cloth curtain. I believe that because bathroom’s ventilation is poor, curtain remains soaked for too long, making it to smell like wet dog.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
1,120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
748 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#2 of 23 in Coimbra
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#3 of 23 in Coimbra
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Coimbra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Coimbra

Address: Avenida Emidio Navarro 70 | Edificio Topazio, Coimbra 3000-150, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coimbra
#2 Best Value Hotel in Coimbra
#5 Business Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range: $44 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Coimbra 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Coimbra hotel is located in the centre of Coimbra, on the banks of the Mondego river, 300 m from the railway station. The hotel boasts easy access to numerous tourist sites such as the historic districts of Coimbra, the Santa Clara convent and Conimbriga ruins. Book one of our 110 airconditioned rooms and make use of our two meeting rooms for organising seminars and conferences, secure pay parking, bar open 24 hours and restaurant. Business guests will appreciate use of WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Coimbra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing