We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location, very basic breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Coimbra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Coimbra
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Coimbra
GreenLeadersBronze level
amsterdam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good central location, very basic breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location, so you can walk to the old city from both side and up the hill to the famous library of the university of Coimbra (must!).

It's a basic Ibis hotel, which means not the bst bed, room rather small. But overal ok.

Breakfast in Ibis is very basic.

What we didnt like: Wifi didnt work that good.

Finding a parking space was abit tricky and not cheap.

Overal, its good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miechiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    577
    288
    53
    18
See reviews for
240
546
73
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location was fine. Quiet and clean. The room was rather small. But it was fine with us as we basically did not spend much in our room. We had two single beds but there were no room between the beds. Small closet and a desk with a chair. Bathroom was decent size. For some reason they gave us one bath towel. We requested and they delivered it to us immediately. The joke was the internet connection. They gave us the password and all but for some reason they connection was so bad and circled back to the home page. This happened with both my ipod and the computer at the lobby. We traveled Portugal for 2 weeks and this was the only place we had issues with internet connection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kepling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

First the hot water was out -then although I left the room at 9 in the morning it wasn't made up until at 4:30 after I asked that it be made up . The explanation - none. Sheer incompetence ! I take it the place has no manager.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enteNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Overall good hotel, 10 minute walking distance from the city center. The staff at the reception is unfriendly, didnt help us with parking issue and was pretty rude to other clients.

Their parking is a scam, go on the parking on the front, you pay 1/3 and staff there is friendly an flexible with tourists.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankyhinrg83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed several nights in, unfortunately in the time of the student festivities and it was very noisy. Apart of that, it was clean and comfort. Location is great, central and it is easy to reach anything in the town. All the rooms accommodate 2 persons so it is great solution for two people who share the room in the relation price/quality.

Room Tip: for quieter room ask for the ones turned back from garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anja81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#2 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
#6 of 21 in Coimbra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Coimbra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Coimbra

Property: Ibis Coimbra
Address: Avenida Emidio Navarro 70 | Edificio Topazio, Coimbra 3000-150, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coimbra
#2 Best Value Hotel in Coimbra
#5 Business Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Coimbra 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Coimbra hotel is located in the centre of Coimbra, on the banks of the Mondego river, 300 m from the railway station. The hotel boasts easy access to numerous tourist sites such as the historic districts of Coimbra, the Santa Clara convent and Conimbriga ruins. Book one of our 110 airconditioned rooms and make use of our two meeting rooms for organising seminars and conferences, secure pay parking, bar open 24 hours and restaurant. Business guests will appreciate use of WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Coimbra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing