We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Old World Charm”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Reviewed December 12, 2006

The Astoria is a beautiful, old hotel on the banks of the Mondego River. The interior is rich, elegant and charming. The staff were extremely helpful at every turn. Breakfast was excellent.

The Astoria is shaped like a wedge. Rooms 209, 309 and 409 are at the tip of the wedge, large, have multiple balconies and views from several angles. If you enjoy taking pictures, request Room 409 as it puts you above many of the obstructions.

Public parking is located directly across the street. Rates are €3 for four hours from 0800 until 1900. You may have to wait 10-15 minutes for a spot to open up. There are men who roam the parking lot pointing out spaces that are becoming open (like you couldn’t see this on your own) expecting a tip. Throw them a Euro if you want, but you are under no obligation to give them anything.

The Astoria is nicely located at the end of Coimbra’s largest pedestrian only street. The famous university is a 10-minute uphill walk, which few will find too strenuous. Arriving at and departing from the hotel by rental car is very easy.

The Astoria is a wonderful hotel that you will enjoy. I highly recommend it.

p.s. If you are like my wife and I, after eight days of eating Portuguese food we were looking for a flavor change. There is a great Italian restaurant right on the river about 300 meters southeast of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USMA1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 474 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2006

Very disapointing. It's a very old hotel, the rooms are very hot, ugly and noisy. The only good thing is the location.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Filipoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2006

Yes, this hotel is old, and it certainly has a lovely charm on the surface. But, this also means the furnishings, and especially the bathroom fittings, are rather dated and not in the best condition.

The view and location are great, but be warned - it can also be noisy being on the main road.

The room I had was very small, very cramped, and the bed was hard and too short for anybody even approaching 6 ft tall, let alone taller. Other colleagues had a better impression so perhaps it was just my room.

Of particular note is the restaurant, which serves really excellent food (and is open to non-residents, incidentally).

Stayed: October 2006
5  Thank unspecified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Astoria in Coimbra for just one night, but wished that we had stayed longer, and used this hotel as a jumping off point to explore more the surrounding region. The hotel was clean, charming, and old world. The location was excellent, right next to a beautiful park running along the river, and within a block of the train station. The food in the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank terrysherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2006

Coimbra is a very interesting city worthy of a night's stay and a visit to its university and both its new and old cathedrals. We found the people to very polite and helpful.

The Astoria is ideally located and is very easy to find. It is a charming hotel and has lots of character- lots of dark wood and has a real art deco feel to it. The staff give a great service and we loved the food in the restaurant. We had dinner on both of the evenings we stayed in the hotel and it was excellent and very good value. The rooms, although simple are spotlessly clean and have air conditioning.

It does not have hotel parking but there is an underground parking located nearby- it cost us nearly 30 Euro for two days..

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A_Murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KearneyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
1,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
784 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#2 of 23 in Coimbra
1,329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Avenida Emidio Navarro 21, Coimbra 3000-150, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Price Range: $57 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel overlooking Mondego River in historic university town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing