We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time...”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Step back in time...”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The grandeur has faded somewhat - carpets are tatty, the floorboards creak and the bathrooms are really dated, but this place has oodles of charm. I love it!
It's a beautiful building, with original fixtures still retained, and the high ceilings and gorgeous night-time views of the river are just joyful. Beds are comfortable and made up in crisp white linen. Breakfast is Full-English and elegantly served in the wood-panelled dining room.
Staying there is a delightful alternative to the bland corporate chains - treat yourself to some old-world style!

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    155
    124
    58
    40
See reviews for
64
215
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is a lovely building, the ground floor is like you have just gone back in time 100 years, the old lift will pull down benches is certainly an eye opener. Decor downstairs...beautiful, however the rooms really need updating and having no bar for an evening night cap was a big downer, breakfast was ok. very centrally located and ok views of Coimbra

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businessinportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed two nights here. Centrally and conveniently located. Has a quaint old world charm, which we liked but it does come with some loss of comfort. The downstairs is really nice but the bedroom was cramped and could do with a good refurbishment. The bed was uncomfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the breafast was fine if unremarkable. I had a reason to be in Coimbra and this was a convenient hotel which suited us fine not convinced I'd want to stay much longer though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It's been 10 years since I last stayed at the Hotel Astoria and not much has changed except that now they have computers to check you in. Sure she is old, worn, but like a pair of comfortable shoes. Beautiful public areas, rooms are large with high ceilings and the elevator is partially original I think (modern machinery, with old fixtures). There is no restaurant for meals other than breakfast, but the dining room is beautiful. No bar except for a few bottles near the sitting area that they will pour you a drink from. It only has internet in public area's, but it was fine and gave us an excuse to sit in thepublic areas. The staff were professional, but not overly friendly. The price was right and the location on the across from the river was perfect. This is a Grand Old Lady and she is what she is!!!!!

Room Tip: Parking can be a pain, but if you go across the bridge you will find free parking, except for the gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merrill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Excellent location on the banks of Mondego River, and just in downtown. Very good breakfast and friendly staff. Large rooms and all this with a touch of "Belle Epoque", and at a very reasonable price. It's true that it needs to be remodelled but even so it's really nicer and different than a standard type modern hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the corner of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darien, ct
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We checked into this hotel, after hearing from Frommer's that Coimbra was a great city to visit. Not true, nothing to do there. This hotel looks cool from the outside, and has an ok review by Frommers. You see it right when you cross the bridge, so we thought it would be great. I should have been suspicious when I went in to inquire, and the receptionist asked if I'd like to see the rooms...I didn't, and what a mistake. We stayed on the 4th floor (haunted!) carpets were really dirty, awful musty smell, and awful old blankets. Old broken tv, old fashioned phone, zero water pressure, bad hair dryer, no wifi in rooms and too scary to go to the lobby at night,Tower of Terror style elevator, old, dirty furniture in lobby and hotel room, and unhelpful (rude) desk staff. Restaurant was not operating for dinner, and we didn't bother staying for breakfast. This old building could be such a great old hotel, if only some big chain would buy it and renovate it. Not worth staying, even if the price seems right. We think our room on the 4th floor was haunted! Lots of swirling wind during the night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coimbra hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I are not spook hunters. We are not looking for the supernatural. But there was undoubtedly a ghost in our room on the fourth floor.

We were laying in our separate beds (old school, like everything else in this hotel) watching television when her suitcase slammed shut. The lid had been leaning against the wall, and it didn't just tip over from some vibration -- it really and truly SLAMMED. I saw it happen.

A minute later, my wife complained of a bitter coldness and wrapped herself in an extra blanket. This is unusual; she doesn't get suddenly cold. I was laying three feet away and felt perfectly warm.

The next morning, she walked into the bathroom -- and saw the lid of the garbage can SLAM shut.

I won't bore you with any more stories, but something was happening in our room.

Room Tip: Stay on the fourth floor if you want to be haunted.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank jammyjaybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
1,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 23 in Coimbra
1,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Avenida Emidio Navarro 21, Coimbra 3000-150, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel overlooking Mondego River in historic university town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing