We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Kidderminster
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Back in time”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Hilary & I stayed for 2 nights in June 2012.
Hotel was dated as someone has said around 1926, furniture certainly was that old.
Rooms large & clean, beds excellent, we stayed on the third floor overlooking the river. Bit noisy
from traffic, but bearable.
Big disappointment was the lack of facilities, the hotel claims three stars. No bar, no way of getting a drink outside breakfast hours....
Free internet.
Overall impression fine for a short stay but would consider the hotel a good bed & breakfast place. Hotel from the outside looks worn and in need of many thousands of Euro to smarten it up
Centrally located, easy walk into town, lots of bars/restaurants within staggering distance.

Room Tip: Front overlooking river, otherwise the view would be of crumbling buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bawoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    155
    124
    58
    40
See reviews for
64
215
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

this is my favourite hotel in Portugal.. I have lived and travelled all over Portugal and this is my number one place... HOWEVER IT IS NOT QUIET at night there's noise.. but that aside.. it's a trip into a bygone age.. I almost didn't write this review as I have always felt this hotel was my personal secret... it keeps a part of my heart
I trust any who read this feel the same

Room Tip: value for money.. well try IBIS not far away.. or many others.. nostalgia ... then this is for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELOHIM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our one night stay at the Hotel Astoria. This is a historic (1926) hotel that is a bit worn, but it still is very comfortable. The bathroom was certainly sufficient and, with a window, offered good lighting. The staff members were superb: friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Our room had multiple bay windows and offered a great view of the Mondego River. The location is great for strolling, seeing the sights. The breakfast offered variety and was very good.
There is a special charm about staying in a place with such a long, elegant history. We felt it to be a good value.

Room Tip: Room with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturelover60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this hotel. I found it very charming but it is true that it looks a bit old. The location is good, in the city center, close to shops and restaurants. The room was clean with great views to the river, high ceilings and nice and clean bathroom. Helpful staff and breakfast was ok. We got a very good deal so overall was great value.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel has a great site by the river and very close to old town and university. Art nouveau/decode sign and furnishings give feel of grandeur from yesteryear albeit a little faded (understandable) Clean, friendly, air con and hot water a plenty. Good breakfast. The art nouveau ambience is the real plus however. Priced reasonably. Our room at the end (109) had great views.

Room Tip: For for 109 or equivalent on higher floors for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is a very functional hotel, with charming atmosphere and decor making it feel like the 1950s and a bit ragged, but a very nice change from the typical hotel. We had a good view of river from our rooom, and there is an excellent large breakfast buffet. It is a great location for a visit to the city. Public parking across the street was very convenient, though I had to put money in the meter every 4 hours during the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toron2nians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
1,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 23 in Coimbra
1,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Avenida Emidio Navarro 21, Coimbra 3000-150, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel overlooking Mondego River in historic university town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing