We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Yurts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coimbra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yurt Holiday Portugal
Ranked #2 of 35 Coimbra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Right from the the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and relaxed. The Yurt was lovely, in an idyllic location. Hannah and Derrick were always so helpful and eager to make our stay a complete pleasure.
All this was complimented by the fabulous dinners and breakfasts. Derrick's 'Moscow Mules' featuring his special Ginger Beer enjoyed on the terrace are a great way to wind down. Although we were not too lucky with the unseasonal weather we really could not have had a better time. The location, south of Porto and a little north of Coimbra, was ideal. Historic cities, coastline, beautiful mountain walks and wild swimming all in easy reach.
Thank you Hannah and Derrick for a lovely holiday which we will never forget.

Room Tip: We stayed at Chestnut Yurt, it was in a lovely spot and wonderfully private, very close to a natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icarus666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 128 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

We, a family of 4, had a memorable stay in the Chestnut Tree Yurt. We enjoyed the large and very comfortable accomodation in the Yurt and the hospitality of our hosts -lovely meals cooked by Hannah and delightful conversations with Derrick who is widely travelled.

Our children, ages 12 and 15, loved the additional bell tent and the company of the Mc Donnell children.

A car is essential and there are many things to do in the surrounding areas, though just lazing around is an equally good option for the travel weary !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

What tremendous hosts Derrick and Hannah were. They made our honeymoon an absolute delight. The location is fantastic, with easy access to surrounding areas and river swimming; just a short drive away (a hire car is a necessity).
The Yurt (Apple Tree Yurt) was a pleasure to stay in, with plenty of space, comfortable beds and decent facilities. The yurt remained cool in the mornings and late evenings, allowing for easy relaxation and rest (despite some 40+ degrees celsius temperatures!)
The full-board option is highly recommended (continental breakfast, substantial packed lunch and 3 course dinners), not just for the sake of simplicity (there are no self-catering facilities) but mainly for a taste of the delicious, varied and inspiring food that Hannah and Derrick provided throughout our stay. They did an amazing job cooking vegan (for the first time we were surprised to learn) and gave us some new and exciting ideas to work with.
Above everything, we were taken back by how intimate Derrick, Hannah and the family made our stay feel. It was an experience like no other and one that can only be fully appreciated first hand. We will surely be returning for many anniversaries to come!
Special thanks to Theo and Ella for the grasshopper rescue mission.

Mr and Mrs Kimber!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npkimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our stay in Yurt Holiday Portugal was absolutely fantastic. The holiday experience that Derrek & Hannah offer is second to none. From the warm welcome, to the cosy yurt to the delicious food and the wonderful chats. That holiday will definitely remain one of our favourite and we look forward to coming back in a few years as I am more than certain that we would want to.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hannah and Derrick very kindly made a last minute booking for us for a night as we just had to try staying here after all we'd read. It was just perfect, surrounded by the beautiful portuguese countryside, wild flowers, trickling stream, buzzing of insects... complete calm, we loved it.

Our hosts were so hospitable and friendly, making a real effort to make us comfortable, couldn't really hope for more. The room was gorgeous and would probably make Genghis jealous. The location was very special. We took a picnic to the river and had a magical time, stunning.

Only one problem, we wanted to stay longer but sadly had to go home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jclharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A lovely part of Portugal, green fields filled with wild flowers at this time of year. I loved sleeping in the yurt, with a circle of fresh air above us, waking to the sound of birdsong and bees humming in the apple blossom. Breakfast was a feast and the meals in the evening were like being invited to a dinner party by a great cook. Derek and Hannah and children were charming hosts and very welcoming to both adults and kids.
The seaside town of Aveira, the 'Venice' of Portugal because of its gondolas and canals, was an hour and a half drive away. An atmospheric, genteel shabby town with tile-clad houses and stripey beach houses.

Room Tip: Kids can be accomodated in a 'stick-on' yurt. Great fun for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caripen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Imagine that even being the last stay of the season (late october) with the weather chilly and rainy, we all had a fabulous time! Derek and Hannah were the perfect hosts, making conversation with my chatty 75 year old father and being so sweet and patient with my 2 year old daughter. We were hesitant about staying in the yurts but they proved to be the perfect sleeping accommodations, rain or shine. Very comfortable beds and nice hot showers.
And I cannot say enough about the food... gourmet and homemade... do not waste your time in restaurants when Derek and Hannah can cook for you!
We will definitely be back, this time in the summer so we can enjoy the area a bit more.
I have never seen my parents so relaxed while traveling and I, personally, had the best sleeps I ever had being away from home. I am so happy we stayed here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherraine_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
3.7 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
1,190 reviews
3.5 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#2 of 23 in Coimbra
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#7 of 23 in Coimbra
1,381 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
784 reviews
7.1 mi away
Casa nas Serras
Casa nas Serras
#1 of 35 in Coimbra
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yurt Holiday Portugal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yurt Holiday Portugal

Address: Varzeas, Coimbra 3020-136, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Coimbra
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in our romantic Mongolian style yurts, nestled in the mountains of central Portugal, about one hour inland from the ancient university town of Coimbra. Olives, vines and fruit trees surround the yurt; our own spring provides the water; and energy is solar powered. Whether you’re looking for a lazy rural retreat, or an active holiday in the hills, there’s no better way to get back to nature without foregoing any creature comforts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing