We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely part of Portugal, lovely accommodation and lovely people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coimbra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yurt Holiday Portugal
Ranked #2 of 32 Coimbra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Chestnut Tree Yurt. We were only there 4 nights as we had been travelling around Portugal. It was the most relaxing part of our trip. Wish we could have stayed longer and explored the area a bit more and done a bit more river swimming. The yurt was lovely, comfortable, spacious but cosy. It was so quiet and secluded. We really enjoyed our evening meals on Hannah and Derek's terrace, watching the moon come up. The food was delicious. I would recommend it to anyone (who is quite fit - there are alot of steps!) I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosieSudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Yurt Holiday Portugal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 127 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Geat location, and great people.. Is it special? I chose to propose to my financee there with our three kids 13,11 and 9! Derrick (and Hannah's) cooking is superb, three kids, no menu and not a single 'I'm not eating that!'. We stayed 10 nights (kids in the bell tent), got to know the locals in Celavisa Cafe and tried all the local river swimming spots. We loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithydunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our recent stay at the Apple Tree yurt with our two boys (4 and 7) was fantastic. The yurt is very comfortable and like everything else at Hannah and Derrick's place, so well thought out. The children had a pod with single beds, attached to the yurt, which they loved and slept very well in. There are hammocks and a swing and lots of games for the children to play with and our city kids soon got used to roaming around the property, which is set well away from the road. Hannah generously lent us her children's toys to play with and they were really attentive to our children, who felt immediately at home.

Hannah and Derrick, are incredibly warm and accommodating and great company; during our stay there was another family staying in the other yurt and we shared delicious meals together on the house's candle-lit verandah at a time of our choosing. The wonderful fresh food that comes out of their kitchen, much of it from their garden, was the best we had in Portugal. It all comes with wine and they make a very good cocktail: it's at the very glam end of glamping.

Derrick and Hannah also offer lunch in a hamper to take to one of the many beautiful wild swimming spots nearby, so we really didn't have to do anything much for ourselves but relax and explore. The area is very beautiful; there are quiet mountain roads with some lovely drives, idyllic swimming in rivers and pools and some pretty local villages. Hannah and Derrick, who've lived there for some time, were very helpful in pointing us in the right direction and provide some useful home-drawn maps.

Our time at the yurt was a great experience which we'll remember fondly and we would whole-heartily recommend a holiday here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirsten w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We are just back from our stay in Chestnut Tree Yurt with out 5 year old daughter. We had come from busy lives in London and it was the perfect and most beautiful place to relax and explore the stunning local environment.

The yurt was beautifully furnished and easily big enough for all 3 of us. it is an ideal holiday for families, our daughter had a great time playing around the yurt with Hannah and Derricks dog, there is badminton and crocket to play and hammocks to lounge around in under the cooling chestnut tree. Our daughter also loved collecting the fresh cool drinking water from a nearby spring, loved the swimming in the many wild swimming spots nearby that Hannah and Derrick directed us too and exploring around the spacious gardens and areas around the yurts.

Hannah and Derrick's warmth, hospitality and attentiveness are what makes this holiday really special. They were also really attentive to the children's needs (there was family with two children in the other yurt) and Hannah brought out toys, books and and drawing materials for all the kids. Another highlight was the consistently delicious, local, fresh and often home grown and very child friendly food that we were served every night. Hannah and Derrick are very relaxed and flexible and will time meals and tastes to suits you and clearly enjoy cooking for their guests.

We were delivered fresh, ever changing, delicious breakfasts every morning either to the table outside our yurt or we could choose to breakfast upstairs on their terrace with stunning views over the yurts. We enjoyed a few jugs of excellent homemade caipirinhas and mojitos waiting for dinner while the sun sets.

Derrick and Hannah have designed a truly eco-conscious experience. It was wonderful to enjoy a taste of outdoor living with lots of comfort. A very special place and two wonderful hosts who clearly enjoy making peoples stay a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed 3 nights (2 days) in this beautiful place. We booked this break to force ourselves to relax and take it easy between visiting some of Portugal's beautiful cities.
And what a relaxing, laid-back place this is!
We had some of the best meals of our holiday in Portugal: cooked by Hannah and Derreck and brought/served to us in their special way.
This was a very special and unique experience for us with very warm hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piekkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We spent two weeks touring Portugal and the highlight was our stay with Hannah and Derek at their Yurts. The location is idyllic, I am pretty sure that if you let Hannah put your finger in a pot it would grow roots. They seemed to be able to grow just about anything. Then we got to eat the fruits of their labour. We are on the top of the list for Derek's cook book when it comes out. What a super cook. We had 2 vegetarians in our group and their food was so wonderful that my husband actually was a temporary vegetarian for the remainder of our stay. We felt waited upon hand and foot, with amazing service, amazing smiles and lots of cool information on how they manage to support themselves with solar, etc. The yurts were gorgeous, totally outdoing any ideas we had in our heads. they were beautifully decorated, comfortable and felt like home. They are inspirational folk that want to share their joy in life. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the Apple Tree Yurt during June 2012 and we had the best experience. It was my first time in a Yurt and I have to say I found my stay very comfortable (the bed was heavenly) and accommodating! I had everything that I needed, the walks and sites surrounding were great and the food was the best food we ate for the whole time we were in Portugal. I highly recommend going for the deal of a 3 course evening meal with wine as it is absolute top quality and you won't be left hungry. There is also an extra room if you need to use it, we didn't but it was a lovely space. Great value and memorable experience, we hope to return again some day!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coimbra
4.4 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
3.5 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#2 of 23 in Coimbra
1,254 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,271 reviews
10.9 mi away
Pousada de Condeixa-Coimbra
Pousada de Condeixa-Coimbra
#1 of 1 in Condeixa-a-Nova
277 reviews
7.1 mi away
Casa nas Serras
Casa nas Serras
#1 of 32 in Coimbra
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yurt Holiday Portugal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yurt Holiday Portugal

Address: Varzeas, Coimbra 3020-136, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Coimbra
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in our romantic Mongolian style yurts, nestled in the mountains of central Portugal, about one hour inland from the ancient university town of Coimbra. Olives, vines and fruit trees surround the yurt; our own spring provides the water; and energy is solar powered. Whether you’re looking for a lazy rural retreat, or an active holiday in the hills, there’s no better way to get back to nature without foregoing any creature comforts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing